Social Sciences and Law Microforms

The microfiche collection includes English abstracts of materials drawn from documents, books, pamphlets, journals and unpublished materials on all subjects related to crime and criminal justice. The abstracting is done by the staff of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency's (NCCD) Information Center. Some of the abstracts have appeared previously in NCCD's quarterly publication Criminal Justice Abstracts, but most have never been published before.

The abstracts on microfiche are arranged by accession number assigned by NCCD's Information Center. The call number and abstract number are needed to locate the abstract in the Periodicals and Microforms Room.

The Cumulative Indexes (1968/82 and 1983/84) to Abstracts on Crime and Juvenile Delinquency are divided into two parts: a subject and geographical index and an author index.

The collection includes full text titles drawn from municipal, county, state, federal, and privately generated documents, reports and studies. The collection reproduces these materials from the National Council on Crime and Delinquency Library, in Hackensack N. J. The selection of the materials to be reproduced was based on two main criteria: the intrinsic importance of the materials, and their lack of wide circulation. Emphasis was also placed on materials from 1960 to 1975.

Titles in the microfiche collection are arranged by major subject areas such as: alcoholism, family courts, parole and recidivism. Each item receives a unique alphanumeric identifier which indicates its subject category and sequence within the collection. The alphanumeric identifier is needed to find the microfiche in the Periodicals and Microforms Room along with the call number of the collection.

Access and control of the microfiche in the base collection, and the updates, is through the bibliographic guides and the card catalog. The base collection and each update have a comprehensive printed guide. The guides are divided into two sections: the classified entry and the indexes. The classified entry section arranges items by code and broad subject categories. The alphanumeric identifier assigned each entry provides access to the microfiche. The indexes in the second section are divided by main and added entry, and the subject (which includes geographic regions). Each document in the collection can also be found in the card catalog by main entry, title and subject.

Abstracts for some of the documents in the collection can be found in the Abstracts on Crime and Juvenile Delinquency, 1968-1975 and in the Abstract Updates. There is a concordance which links the abstract accession numbers to the alphanumeric identifiers used in the Crime and Juvenile Delinquency Collection in each volume.

This collection is composed of about 30 percent of the holdings of the U.S. National Criminal Justice Reference Service in microfiche format between 1972 and 1996. It includes published and unpublished research reports, program descriptions and evaluations, books, dissertations, theoretical and empirical studies, handbooks and standards, journal articles, audio cassettes, films and filmstrips. The microfiche collection was discontinued by NCJRS in 1996. Many NCJRS publications (those done by government agencies and contractors) are available fulltext on the NCJRS website.

Microfiche are arranged by NCJ number (or accession number).

Answer to Question

This collection contains the texts of legislative enactments of the Russian government. It provides a source for the study of the legal, political, economic, administrative and cultural development of Russia from 1649 through 1916.

The collection has been filmed in the following sequences:

• Series 1 (Years 1649-1825): 45 Volumes
  • The indexes appear on microfiche sheets one through six (box one) and on sheets 1373 through 1443 (boxes 33-35). Supplementary materials are on sheets 1444-1569 (boxes 36-39). Each volume contains an annual subject index.
• Series 2 (Years 1825-1881): 55 Volumes
  • The indexes are on sheets 1570-1574 (box 40) and sheets 5387-5481 (boxes 130-132). Indexes, tables, forms and illustrations follows each volume in this series.
• Series 3 (Years 1881-1913): 33 Volumes
  • Each volume is followed by indexes, tables, forms and illustrations.

Westmoreland v CBS had its origins on January 23, 1982, when CBS broadcast "The Uncounted Enemy: A Vietnam Deception." On Sept 13, 1982 General William C. Westmoreland who served for four years (1964-1968) as commander of U.S. Military Forces in Vietnam sued CBS, several CBS employees, and Samuel Adams (a former CIA Analyst) for libel.

This collection includes extensive testimony by civilian and military leaders of the Johnson administration, as well as by top CBS News executives. Many of the Vietnam-era documents were classified "top secret" before they were obtained for use in the trial through Freedom of Information Act requests and other legal processes.

The papers are divided into seven series, arranged chronologically or alphabetically depending on the contents.

The Calendar of the Martin Van Buren Papers is a chronological listing of documents day by day, with a short description of each document. There is a name and subject index at the end of the list. The Library of Congress has not yet published an Index for the collection.

The trials, covering the time period from January 1973 to April 1975, were conducted based on the following indictments:

• J.B. Connally; illegal gratuity
• J.D. Ehrlichman; conspiring against the rights of citizens
• G.G. Liddy: conspiracy, interception of oral and wire communications, second degree burglary and unlawful possission of intercepting devices
• J.N. Mitchell: conspiracy, false statement to a government agency, obstruction of justice, perjury and false declarations

The Guide lists reel locations for the proceedings of the various trials. An index is located on the film at the beginning of each transcript.