Skip to main content

Preserving Historic Theaters

This guide provides information on the history of historic theaters, gives examples of rehabilitation projects across the country, and suggests related resources for interested individuals to track down for more information.

Archives & Manuscript Collections

Archival Collections contain manuscript collections documenting all aspects of history and culture. There are a couple of collections around the country relate to the Historic Theaters.

There has been a recent effort to digitize many of these collections and the make them available.

 

Archival Resources

John Eberson Archival Collection

John Eberson was an American architect best known for his movie palace designed in the atmospheric theatre fashion. This collection includes some of Eberson's studio work as well as plans and materials on four of his "atmospheric" theaters Loew's Theatre (Louisville, KY; 1927), Loew's Theatre (Akron, OH; 1928), Avalon Theatre (Chicago, IL; 1925), Paradise Theatre (Chicago, IL; 1928). The collection is housed the Architectural Archives at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA.

Finding Archival Material

Search ArchivesUM if you are looking for primary source materials, such as correspondence, diaries, and records of organizations. Most of the University Libraries' archival and manuscript materials can be found using ArchivesUM.

ArchivesUM contains a list of finding aids to our archival collections. A finding aid is a guide to a particular collection and provides a detailed description of what you can find in a collection, as well as links to related materials and subjects.

Contact us for assistance locating materials.