Skip to main content

HESP403 - Introduction to Phonetic Science

Guide to Library resources to support research for the research assignment in HESP 403.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) is a key database for research in the fields of Hearing, Speech and Linguistics, and a "first stop" for any research in the field. It includes full-text as well as links to other materials available elsewhere.

Other Resources for Hearing and Speech Sciences Research (ProQuest)

The following resources listed below work exactly the same as LLBA and can be used for additional background research:

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - Sample Searches

For the most effective searching in LLBA, select Advanced search from the main search window:

On the Advanced Search sreen - try at least one concept in your search as a Subject heading first. Use the OR option for alternate terms as needed. Use the limiting options to limit to Peer Reviewed, Scholarly Journal, and Journal articles. Select Search:

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - Results Screen

Note the following information on items displayed in your results list:

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - Sample Record

Click on a desired article title on your results list to see the full record available.

(IMPORTANT REMINDER: LLBA only INDEXES the articles selected - it does NOT include full-text. To locate the full-text, use the Find it button on the right-hand side of the article.)