Locating Articles and Background Information

Use the links below to access sources of information for articles and other background information:

Other Sources of Information

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes and summarizes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and book reviews on linguistics and its sub-disciplines. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here: http://wokinfo.com/training_support/training/web-of-science

Need Help Locating Library Materials?

Use the links below to learn more about finding your book on the shelf. Once you've found your books you can check them out at the circulation desk with your UM ID card.

Finding a Book on the Shelf
Once you've found the book that you want use this guide or ask your friendly librarian so that you can find the book.
McKeldin Library Floor Plan

What if there is no full text?

If you are using one of the databases that has the "find it" feature available - don't panic. You have several options available to you:

1st Option: Click the red "Find It" button
This link gives step-by-step instructions on using this tool.
2nd Option: Request the article from another library if UMCP doesn't have it
This tutorial will assist you in using Inter-Library Loan to request the article.