Research Guides: ENSP 400: Capstone in Environmental Science and Policy: Plan to Improve the Ecological Integrity of Carrollton Parkway

Plan to Improve the Ecological Integrity of Carrollton Parkway

To develop a plan that will enhance ecology diversity along Carrollton Parkway including Brier Ditch, which empties into the Northeast Branch of the Anacostia River on the eastern edge of the University of Maryland campus, runs down the middle of this parkway.

Image from http://www.anacostia.net/Subwatershed/Photos/Brier%20Ditch/upper1.htm Image from https://www.newcarrolltonmd.gov/

A short list of books and websites are included below as the best places to start researching this topic. For possible search terms to use in the library catalog, Google and databases, see the Search Strategies under Library Overview and the list of keywords below:

"invasive species" OR (specific species name)

control OR management OR eradication

watershed OR watersheds

"site analysis" or "site design"

planning OR plans OR guidelines

Also review recent related ENSP400 Capstone Topics:

Establishing connections between environment & public health

Site Analysis by James A. LaGro
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781118418932
Publication Date: 2013
The process-oriented guide to context-sensitive site selection, planning, and design Sustainable design is responsive to context. And each site has a unique set of physical, biological, cultural, and legal attributes that presents different opportunities and constraints for alternative uses of the site. Site analysis systematically evaluates these on-site and off-site factors to inform the design of places--including neighborhoods and communities--that are attractive, walkable, and climate-resilient.

Riparian Restoration Decision Support Tool
This user-friendly tool allows managers and decision-makers to rapidly identify and prioritize areas along the banks of rivers, streams, and lakes for restoration, making these ecosystems more resilient to disturbance and future changes in climate. It will also help the conservation community invest limited conservation dollars wisely, helping to deliver sustainable resources.
Guidelines for Steambank Restoration
This booklet has been published by the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission to help owners of streamside property understand how to prevent and, if necessary, correct simple streambank erosion problems. The booklet will describe the interactions of stream flows, stream banks, sediment, and stream side vegetation. An understanding of this information is intended to help a property owner appreciate the need for stream bank protection and assist in selecting the most appropriate natural methods for correcting stream bank erosion problems. Stream bank stabilization techniques utilize live plant materials, structural measures, or a combination of both. The techniques described in this manual are intended for small stream systems with uncomplicated erosion problems.

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics contains extensive data including demographic, historic census, business, health, real estate, housing, employment, consumer spending, and marketing (over 70,000 variables total). Users can create customized maps and reports; data is down to the census tract level.

National Map
This is the primary search and download application for USGS topographic maps and base-layer GIS data. The same topographic maps are also downloadable through other interfaces.
Guide to the Map Collection (McKeldin)
Our print map collection contains approximately 350,000 maps, as well as atlases and map-related reference materials. Most of the maps date to the second half of the 20th century and were published by U.S. government agencies and acquired through the Federal Depository Library Program. The collection covers the the United States and its territories and possessions, and many areas outside of the United States.
Urban Hydrology for Small Watersheds, Technical Release 55 (TR-55)
From the United States Department of
Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation Service, Technical Release 55 (TR-55) presents simplified procedures to calculate storm runoff volume, peak rate of discharge, hydrographs, and storage volumes required for floodwater reservoirs. These procedures are applicable in small watersheds, especially urbanizing watersheds, in the United States. First issued by the Soil Conservation Service (SCS) in January 1975, TR-55 incorporates current SCS procedures. This revision (1986/1999) includes results of recent research and other changes based on experience with use of the original edition.
WinTR-55 Watershed Hydrology
"The TR-55 computer model has been revised and completely rewritten. As a windows based program, the input and editing windows are a big improvement over the DOS version. The new WinTR-55 uses the WinTR-20 program as the driving engine for more accurate analysis of the hydrology of the small watershed system being studied."
National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC)
The gateway to invasive species information; covering federal, state, local and international sources. Species profiles for both aquatic and terrestrial invasives are available.

Control of Invasive Species by Marie. Venner, National Cooperative Highway Research Program.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Control of Invasive Species explores the extent to which state departments of transportation are identifying actions that affect the spread of invasive species, preventing introduction, tracking status and locations of “invasives” in a timely and ongoing manner, controlling found populations, restoring invaded habitats, conducting research, and sharing lessons learned. The report documents successful practices and lessons learned. It also synthesizes the state of the practice in developing Integrated (Roadside) Vegetation Management, along with physical, chemical, biological, and cultural control mechanisms.

Prince George's County Watershed Restoration Planning
Watershed restoration is a set of tools and strategies used by Prince George's County (County) Department of the Environment (DoE) to combat stormwater pollution. The County and the Clean Water Partnership (CWP) have been implementing restoration projects throughout the County. This website details the restoration planning by DoE.
Prince George’s County Watershed Studies
The Stormwater Management Technical Group is an interagency technical group consisting of representatives from the Department of the Environment and the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, which has been formed to study watersheds in the County. These technical studies include analysis of existing and planned land use, watershed hydrology, stream hydraulics, topographic analysis, evaluation of flood hazard mitigation alternatives, pollutant loading analysis, analysis of various water quality control techniques, and the National Pollutant Discharge Eliminate System (NPDES) Program.