Skip to main content

MIM Resources

For students in the Master of Information Management (MIM) program at Maryland's iSchool

Finding Databases, Journals, and Articles in the UMD Libraries

Database Finder and Journal Finder are your portals to research databases and electronic journals.

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine.  Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases.

Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles.

Learn how to search

Watch these short video tutorials to learn how to search the databases

Reload Button

Doing research off-campus? Try out the UMD Libraries reload button! Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below), and whenever you come across a journal you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UMD Libraries proxy.

Reload @ UMCP

Firefox:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.

Chrome or Safari:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B (in Chrome).

Internet Explorer:
Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, we believe this link is safe.

*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal or database in the A to Z list.

Core Technology Development & Deployment (TDD) Databases

UM Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases! Here is a selection of databases that are more specific to the subjects of computer and information systems, and technology. All databases that UMCP subscribes to can be accessed through Research Port.

Core Strategic Management of Information (SMI) Databases

UM Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases! Here is a selection of databases that are more specific to the subjects of information systems, management and administration. All databases that UMCP subscribes to can be accessed through Research Port.