Skip to main content

MUSC 215

Library resources useful in completing assignments for MUSC 215--World Popular Musics and Identity.

Using RILM

RILM is a database that indexes scholarly literature on music going back to 1967. You can get to it by clicking on the Databases tab on the Libraries home page and then searching for RILM:

RILM is an international endeavor originally based in France (the acronym stands for Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) and it covers scholarly journals, dissertations, book chapters, conference proceedings and more.

Unlike WorldCat UMD, RILM requires a log-in to use it so if you're off campus, just log in with your UMD directory ID and pasword.

Searching RILM is similar to searching WorldCat UMD but the interface looks different. There are some powerful search features availalbe but you might be able to just use keywords. Try your genre or artist and words like Identity or Social.

Since RILM is international in scope, you may want to narrow your search to English or whichever languages you are comfortable with (scroll down on the main search page to find the language limits).

Some of the articles you find in RILM will include full-text but others do not. For full-text, you could see links to PDF, HTML full-text, or Linked Full Text:

If the full text links do not appear, try clicking the Find-it button and a screen will appear providing you with links to the article.

This technique works well for articles and books, but if you come across a dissertation you would like you should try searching in the database Dissertations and Theses: Full Text.

RILM has a lot of nice index terms, or tags, that the editors of the database have applied, so if you find one article that is "right on the money" try clicking the Subjects links to see if any others come up.


Tip: you can actually search RILM and Music Index simultaneously. To do so, first get into one database or the other. Then click Choose Databases at the top of the search screen.

 

Then just select both databases from the list.


And click Okay.