Research Guides: EDCP 610 Professional Orientation: Student Affairs: Database & Journal Finder

Core Education Databases

Research Port is your portal to research databases and electronic journals.

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online.

The UM Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!! The ones listed here are most useful education databases where you'll be able to find information on your topics.

Education Index Retrospective
A bibliographic database of more than half a century of indexing from an international range of English-language periodicals.
Education Source
Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).
ERIC
Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents. All aspects and levels of education. 1966- present. Non-journal documents are available via microfiche; they are also online from 1993-present. The database includes an online thesaurus.
PsycARTICLES
Searchable database of full-text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.

Supplemental Databases

Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. It offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Time Span: 1861 to present.
Education in Video
Online streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. More than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms give education students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
A primary family studies resource, Family & Society Studies Worldwide provides more than one million citations and abstracts to professional journals, books, book chapters, conference papers, theses & dissertations, websites & internet documents, selected popular literature, government reports, statistical documents, working papers, and unpublished material.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection
Streaming video service of almost 12,000 full length videos of high-quality educational titles. Subject sets featured are: business & economics, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, health & medicine.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
The most authoritative and well-known index to educational, psychological, and vocational tests and measurements commercially published in the English language. The Mental Measurements Yearbook consists of full-text descriptive entries, references, and full-text critical reviews of more than 2,200 assessment tools. Includes Tests in Print
Project Muse
Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Time span: Varies by journal. Some back to 1993, the majority from 1997 to the present.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Problem description: Provides an index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences. Covers anthropology, history, linguistics, philosophy, sociology, urban studies, women's studies, psychology, political science and other social sciences related fields. Provides some full-text materials.

Open Access Journals

A few key open access journals in education. For a more comprehensive directory of open access journals visit the Directory of Open Access Journals, which provides free, full text and scholarly journals.

Contemporary Issues in Technology and Teacher Education

Current Issues in Comparative Education

Early Childhood Research & Practice

Education Policy Analysis Archives

Higher Education in Review

Journal of Curriculum and Instruction

Military Database

Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers full text for nearly 300 journals, periodicals, and U.S. government documents. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Coverage includes defense, military technology, global security, and foreign affairs. 1990-present.

EDCP 610 Professional Orientation: Student Affairs

Subject Guide

What if there is no full text?

Core Education Databases

Supplemental Databases

Open Access Journals

Military Database