Skip to main content

Katherine Anne Porter

A guide to Katherine Anne Porter and to the University of Maryland Libraries Katherine Anne Porter Collection.

Photo of Katherine Anne Porter c. 1930

Overview

The University of Maryland Libraries house the primary archive for Katherine Anne Porter (1890-1980). Porter is known primarily for her short stories and novel, Ship of Fools, but also published nonfiction. She was awarded a Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award in 1966 for The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter. Her personal papers reflect her interests in writing, travel, politics, and current events and also document her private life.

The collection includes correspondence, notes and drafts for her works, publications, legal documents, and financial records. It also includes over 1,500 photographs from her personal collection, dating from the 1890s to 1979. Subjects of both snapshots and professional portraits include Porter, her family, friends, homes, and places she visited.

The Porter collection also contains memorabilia, including Mexican pottery, furniture, awards, and diplomas, as well as her personal library. Many of these objects and a portion of her library are housed in the Katherine Anne Porter Room in Hornbake Library.

Copyright and Permissions

Inquiries aboout permission to publish the work of Katherine Anne Porter should be directed to:

The Permissions Company, Inc.
47 Seneca Road, P.O. Box 604
Mount Pocono, PA 18344
Phone: 570-839-7477
Fax: 570-839-7448

Email: permdude@eclipse.net.  http://www.permissionscompany.com/index.html

Hours | Directions | Maps & Floor Plans | Jobs | Contact Us

Information for: Visitors | People with Disabilities

© 2015 University Libraries, University of Maryland
McKeldin Library, Library Lane, College Park, MD 20742-7011
(301) 405-0800
Website Comments | Privacy Policy