Skip to main content

Art Education

Writing a paper? Looking for books or articles? Need help citing your sources? This guide can help!

Tips for reviewing student papers

Tips for reviewing student papers

Techniques for Responding from Ohio State, Writing Across the Curriculum - Includes suggestions on how instructors can provide constructive comments on students' papers.

Writing Assignments and Feedback from Washington University in St. Louis, The Teaching Center - Includes tips for commenting on students writing, using peer review to help students improve their writing, and more.

Grading Student Work from Vanderbilt University, Center for Teaching - Includes developing grading criteria, making grading more efficient, providing meaningful feedback to students, and more.

Before Searching Web Resources

A note of caution

With the amount of information on the internet today, it's easier than ever to investigate health topics online.  Not every webpage you visit will contain trustworthy information, so be prepared to assess website reliability as you browse. Sites that end in .gov or .edu are likely to be reliable, as they represent government and academic sources. Sites that end in .com or .org are a bit harder to assess, but can still contain valuable information. If you come upon a website and are unsure of its reliability, check to see if its information is either written by experts or regularly reviewed by experts, or if it contains citations from scientific literature.

Websites

The Internet has made finding lesson plans and other resources to support curriculum very easy--the problem is the overwhelming number of sites available and getting to the best ones. The following are some suggestions for places to begin.

General Education Metasites

Subject-Oriented Sites

  • ArtsEdNet
    The Getty Museum has taken the lead in producing art education materials for K-12 students. This site provides content and links to other appropriate sites on the Internet.

  • Edsitement: the Best of the Humanities of the Web
    Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, this site contains links to humanities resources, including historical resources, on the Web. It also contains a large number of lesson plans.

  • Socialstudies.org This is the Web site of the National Council for the Social Studies, an "umbrella organization for elementary, secondary, and college teachers of history, geography, economics, political science, sociology, psychology, anthropology, and law-related education. Portions of the site are accessible only to NCSS members.

Art Specific Websites

The Internet has made finding lesson plans and other resources to support curriculum very easy--the problem is the overwhelming number of sites available and getting to the best ones. The following are some suggestions for places to begin.

 

National Gallery of Art

Smithsonian:

Subject Oriented Sites:

  • ArtsEdNet
    The Getty Museum has taken the lead in producing art education materials for K-12 students. This site provides content and links to other appropriate sites on the Internet.