Skip to main content

William Morris and the Kelmscott Press

A guide to resources on William Morris available in Special Collections at Hornbake Library.

Kelmscott Ephemera

Trial pull of Kelmscott Press woodcut initials with annotation credited to Sydney Cockerell, "Experiments for the Well at the World's End- for the Waters of the Wondrous Isles."

Kelmscott Press ephemera from the William Morris Collections includes:


Items listed in this section are arranged using William S. Peterson's citation numbers from A Bibliography of the Kelmscott Press (SPEC REF Z232.M87P44 1984). This bibliography provides additional details about the majority of Kelmscott Press materials in the William Morris Collection. Peterson divided his bibliography into five parts using the letters A through E.

A few items listed in this section include John J. Walsdorf's citation numbers from William Morris in Private Press and Limited Editions: A Descriptive Bibliography of Books by and About William Morris, 1891-1981 (SPC REF Z232.M87W254 1983). The Walsdorf collection formed the core of the University of Maryland's William Morris Collection, and this bibliography provides additional details about many items in the collection. Where applicable, Walsdorf's numbers are provided in square brackets at the end of each citation.

These items can be found at the call number [Rare Oversize Z232.M87 U55 ephemera] in the Morris Collection binder or oversize box.

Kelmscott Advertising Circulars

NOTE: These items can be found at the call number [Rare Oversize Z232.M87 U55 ephemera] in the Morris Collection binder. Highlighted titles link to digital copies. 

C3. List, December 1892. "Specimens," no.4.


C7. List, May 1893. "Specimens," no.10.

C8. List, 1 August 1893. "Specimens," no.9.

C15. [Description page from] Announcement of Vitas Patrum [February 1894].

C22. Announcement of Swinburne's Atalanta. 16 June 1894.

C25. List, 1 October 1894. "Specimens," no. 55.

C28. List, 1 December 1894. "Specimens," no. 62.

C39. Announcement of Herrick's Poems, 22 January 1896.

C42. Announcement of The Well at the World's End,, 27 April 1896.

C44. List, 1 June 1896. "Specimens," no. 119.

C46. Announcement of Spenser's Shepeardes Calendar, 12 November 1896.

C48. Announcement of The Water of the Wondrous Isles, 28 June 1897.

C49. List, 28 July 1897. "Specimens," no. 141.

C51. Announcement of Love is Enough and A Note by William Morris, 25 February 1898.

Kelmscott General Ephemera

NOTE: These items can be found at the call number [Rare Oversize Z232.M87 U55 ephemera] in the Morris Collection binder. Highlighted titles link to digital copies.

D1: Specimen Pages

D1.1. The Recuyell of the Historyes of Troye. [A8]. Four pages including the explicit, Caxton's prologue and Morris' colophon and printer's mark. 1892.


D2: Press Stationary and Forms

D2.1. Stationary: "Kelmscott Press, Upper Mall, Hammersmith, W." On Silver Linen watermarked paper.

D2.5. Envelope: "From the Kelmscott Press, Upper Mall, Hammersmith, W."

D2.11. Invoice: one leaf of thin wove paper.

D2.12. Form letter: "To the Trade only."


D3: London County Council Scholarship Certificates

D3.4 Artisan Art Scholarship. Printed January 1896.

D3.6. Intermediate County Scholarship. Printed January 1896.

D3.9. Junior County Scholarship. Printed Jauary 1896. Undated.

D3.21. Junior Scholarship in Practical Gardening. Printed February 1898.

D3.24 School of Art Scholarship. Printed February 1898.

D3.25. Artisan Art Scholarship. Printed February 1898.

D3.29. Horticultural Scholarship. Printed 4 March 1898.


D4: Keats Memorial Leaflet

D.4. "An American Memorial to Keats" -- Cancelled Version. 1894.

D4. variant. "An American Memorial to Keats" -- Cancelled Version. 1894. The text in this copy differs from the one listed above, reflecting the fact that two important participants in the ceremony were unable to attend.

D4. invitation. An accompanying invitation. "Mr. Elkin Matthews." 1894.


D5: Ancoats Brotherhood Leaflet

D5. Ancoats Brotherhood Leaflet [4 sides]. 1894.


D8: The Wayzegoose Menus


D8. Second Annual Dinner. 1893.

D8. Third Annual Dinner. 1894. [Proof of front page only]

D8. Fourth Annual Dinner. 1895.


D10: Book Labels

D10.1. "From the Library of William Morris."

D10.4. "From the Library of Ch. Fairfax Murray."

D10.8. "From the Library of Laurence W. Hodson."

D10.10 "Given by Mrs. William Morris."

D10.a. ["From the Library of Maud Violet Dugdale" -- not listed in Peterson; probably printed at the Chiswick Press after the closing of Kelmscott Press.]




D10: Kelmscott Miscellany

D12.1. Change of Address.

D12.4. "William Morris/Poet Craftsman/Socialist Lived/Here."

D12.11. The only known extant copy of a poem written and printed by Kelmscott Press workers at Morris' death.

Kelmscott Miscellany Not Listed in Peterson Bibliography:

  • Single unprinted sheet of Kelmscott Press handmade paper showing the first of three watermarks designed by Morris, a flower with the letters "W" and "M."
  • Proof sheet of the opening page of The Sundering Flood, on machine-made paper. [oversize box] The border design used in the proof sheet is different from one used in the final version of The Sunderfing Flood. The books was finished after Morris' death.
  • Original trial pull of one of the Kelmscott Press woodcut borders, on machine-made paper. [oversize box] The center is without text. The publication for which the border was designed has not been identified.