Skip to main content

Maryland City Directories

A guide to city directories for the state of Maryland.

Baltimore City Directories by Year

Baltimore City Directories

Baltimore City Directories are available in microfilm, microfiche, or bound-book formats, and some are even available online.To see a complete list of digitized directories available online, click here.


1700's                   1800-1850                  1850-1900                  1900-1950                  1950-Present

 

Baltimore City Directories - 1700s

Date

Description

Call Number

1752 The following list of families, and other persons residing in Baltimore, was taken in the year 1752, by a lady of respectability, and who was well acquainted with the place at the time, and is believed to be correct. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1796 The Baltimore Town and Fell's Point Directory. The first edition. By William Thompson and James L. Walker. Baltimore: Printed for the Proprietors, by Pechin & Co. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1799 The Baltimore Directory, for 1799, containing the names, occupation, and places of abode of the citizens. Arranged in alphabetical order by John Mullin. Published by Warner & Hanna. M-Fiche F189.B1A125

Baltimore City Directories - 1800-1850

Date

Description

Call Number

1800-1801 The New Baltimore Directory, and annual Registers for 1800 and 1801. By Warner & Hanna, Printers and Booksellers M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1802 The Baltimore Directory, for 1802. By Cornelius William Stafford. Baltimore: Printed for the author by John W. Butler M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1803 The Baltimore Directory, for 1803. By Cornelius William Stafford. Baltimore: Printed for the author by John W. Butler M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1804 The Baltimore Directory, for 1804. By James Robinson. Printed for the publisher by Warner & Hanna M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1807 Baltimore Directory and Citizen's Register, for 1807. By James M'Henry. Printed by Warner & Hanna M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1808 Baltimore Directory and Citizen's Register, for 1808. Containing the names, occupations, and places of abode, of the inhabitants arranged in alphabetical order. To which are added, a supplement, and several useful tables M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1810 The Baltimore Directory for 1810. By William Fry. Baltimore: Printed for the publisher. G. Dobbin and Murphy -- printer M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1812 Fry's Baltimore Directory, for 1812. Baltimore: Printed by B.W. Sower & Co. for the publisher M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1814-1815 The Baltimore Directory for 1814-1815; by James Lakin. Baltimore: Printed by J.C. O'Reilly M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1816 The Baltimore Directory and Register for 1816. By Edward Matchett. Baltimore: Printed and sold at the Wanderer Office

M-Fiche F189.B1A125

and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A181

1817-1818 The Baltimore Directory for 1817-1818. Corrected up to the first of April. To be continued annually, in May. Baltimore: Printed by James Kennedy M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1819 The Baltimore Directory, corrected up to June 1819. Compiled by Samuel Jackson. Baltimore, printed by Richard J. Matchett M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1822-1823 ONLINE: The Baltimore Directory, for 1822 and 1823. Compiled by C. Keenan. Baltimore: Printed by Richard J. Matchett M-Fiche F189.B1A125 and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A181
1824 Matchett's Baltimore Directory, for 1824. Corrected up to the first of February. Baltimore: Printed and published by Richard J. Matchett M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1827 Matchett's Baltimore Directory for 1827. Corrected up to the first of February. Baltimore: Printed and published by Richard J. Matchett. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1829 Matchett's Baltimore Directory (sic), corrected up to June 1829. Containing an engraved plan of the city. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1831 Matchett's Baltimore Directory (sic), corrected up to June 1831. Containing with or without a plan of the city. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD RARE F189.B1A183
1833-1834 Matchett's Baltimore Directory (sic), corrected up to May 1833. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD RARE F189.B1A183
1835-1836 Matchett's Baltimore Address Directory, corrected up to Sept. 1835. Also contains a historical sketch of Baltimore. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
and
MD RARE F189.B1A183
1836 The Baltimore Address Directory: in which are alphabetically arranged the vocations and names of many of the prominent businessmen, of the city; to which is prefixed, a statistical article, developing some of the resources of Baltimore. By William B. Lyford. Baltimore, printed by J. Robinson M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1837-1838 ONLINE: Matchett's Baltimore Directory (sic), corrected up to May 1837. For 1837 and 1838

M-Fiche F189.B1A125

and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A183

1840-1841 Matchett's Baltimore Directory (sic), for 1840 and 1841 M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1842 ONLINE: Matchett's Baltimore Directory, or Register of Householders, corrected up to June 1842

M-Fiche F189.B1A125

and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A183

1842

ONLINE: Craig's Business Directory and Baltimore Almanac.M-Fiche F189.B1A125

and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A18351843Volume II, Number II. Craig's Business Directory and Baltimore Almanac for 1843. Published Annually. Baltimore: Published by Robert Semmes. Printed by (sic) J. Robinson

M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1845 ONLINE: The Baltimore Directory, for 1845, The City Register. Baltimore: printed and published by John Murphy

M-Fiche F189.B1A125

and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A184

1845 Baltimore Business Directory containing advertisements, printed and published by John Murphy MD Rare Book F189.B1A1842
1847-1848 Matchett's Baltimore Directory(sic), for 1847 and 1848. An engraved map of the city, with references designating the wards and public buildings. Baltimore: Printed and published by Richard J. Matchett M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1849-1850 ONLINE: Matchett's Baltimore Directory(sic), for 1849 and 1850. Baltimore: Printed and published by Richard J. Matchett

M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-8

and
MD Rare Book F189.B1A183

Baltimore City Directories - 1850-1900

Date

Description

Call Number

1851 Matchett's Baltimore Directory(sic), for 1851. Baltimore: Printed and published by Richard J. Matchett. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-6
and
MD RARE F189.B1A183
1853-1854 Matchett's Baltimore Directory(sic), for 1853. Baltimore: Printed and published by Richard J. Matchett. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-7
1855-1856 Matchett's Baltimore Directory(sic), for 1855-56. Baltimore: Printed and published by Richard J. Matchett. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-7
1856-1857 Woods' Baltimore Directory, for 1856 and 1857, containing a business directory, and engraved map of the city. Baltimore: Printed and published by John Woods. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-7
1858 The Baltimore City Directory; containing the names of the citizens, a subscribers' business directory, state and city records, a street directory, and an appendix of much useful information. Richard Edwards and William Boyd, publishers. M-Fiche F189.B1A125
1858-1859 Woods' Baltimore Directory, for 1858-59. Baltimore: Printed and published by John W. Woods. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-8
1859-1860 Compiled by W. Eugene Ferslew. Baltimore: Sherwood & Co., Printers. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-4
1860 Woods' Baltimore City Directory, containing a corrected engraved map of the city. Baltimore: Printed and published by John W. Woods. M-Fiche F189.B1A125 Cards 1-9
1863-1864 E.M. Cross & Co.'s Baltimore city business directory MD RARE F189.B1 E3
1863-1865/66 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
1864 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1865-1866 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1866-1868 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
1867-1868 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1868-1869 Woods’ Baltimore city directory MD RARE F189.B1 A14
1868/69-1870 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
1870 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1871 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1871-1872 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
1872 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD F189.B1A14
1873 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1873-1874 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
1874 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1875 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1875-1876 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
1876 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1877 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1877-1878 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
1878 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1879 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1879-1880 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
1880 Woods' Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
1881 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD RARE F189.B1A14
1882 Woods' Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD RARE F189.B1A14
1883 Woods’ Baltimore city directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD RARE F189.B1A14
1884 Woods’ Baltimore city directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD RARE F189.B1A14
1885 Woods’ Baltimore city directory M-Film F189.B1A14
and
MD RARE F189.B1A14
1886 Woods’ Baltimore city directory MD RARE F189.B1A14
and
M-Film F189.B1A14
1887 Baltimore merchants’ and manufacturers’ directory. MD RARE F189.B1 W5
1887 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1887-1901 R.L. Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory. Containing a new map of the city, a carefully classified business directory, new and complete street directory and an appendix. M-Film F189.B1A18 15 Reels
1888 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1888 Rippey’s index map and business guide of Baltimore, Md. MD RARE F189.B1 R65 1888
1889 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1889-1890 Blue Book MD F189.B1 B4
1890 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1890-1891 R.L. Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Business Directory; Containing the names of banks, insurance companies, railroads, newspapers, corporations, manufacturers, etc. MD RARE F189.B1A16
1891 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1891 A reciprocidade commercial: Baltimore e Brazil MD RARE HF3403.B3 M4
1892 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD RARE F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1892 Breed Publishing Co.’s directory of the Western Maryland railroad for the year 1892, from Baltimore to Williamsport MD RARE F187.F8 B7
1893-1894 R.L. Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Business Directory MD RARE F189.B1A16
1893 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1894 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1895 Baltimore’s 400 business directory, 3 MD RARE F189.B1 W5
1895 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1896 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1897 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1898 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1899 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18

Baltimore City Directories - 1900-1950

Date

Description

Call Number

1900 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1901 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1902 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1902 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1903 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1903 R.L Polk & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1904 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1904 R.L. Polks & Co.'s Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1904-1907 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore Business Directory MD M-Film F189.B13C51
1905 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1905 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1905-1906 Polk's Baltimore City Business Directory MD RARE F189.B1A16
1906 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1906 Blue Book MD F189.B1B4
1906 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1907 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1907 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1907-1910 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore Business Directory MD M-Film F189.B13C51
1908 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
MD M-Film F189.B1A18
1908 Blue Book MD F189.B1B4
1908 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1909 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1909 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1909-1910 Baltimore Business Directory MD F189.B1A1842
1910 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing M-Film F189.B1A18
1910 Blue Book MD F189.B1B4
1910 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1910-1913 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore Business Directory MD M-Film F189.B13C51
1911 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing M-Film F189.B1A18
1911 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1912 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1912 Blue Book MD F189.B1B4
1912 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1913 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18 and M-Film F189.B1A18
1913 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1913-1916 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore Business Directory M-Film F189.B13C51
1914 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1914 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1915 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1915 Blue Book MD F189.B1B4
1915 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1916 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing M-Film F189.B1A18
1916 Blue Book MD F189.B1B4
1916 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1917 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1917 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1918-1919 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1918-1919 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1920 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1920 Blue Book MD F189.B1B4
1920 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
1920 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
1921 Baltimore City Directory for the Year Commencing MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1921 Blue Book MD F189.B1B4
1921 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1922 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1922 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1923 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1923 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1924-1925 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1924-1925 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. MD M-Film F189.B13C5
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1926 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1926 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1927 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1927 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1928 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1928 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1929 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1929 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
and
M-Film F189.B1A18
1930 City Directories of the United States, 1902-1935: Baltimore, Md. M-Film F189.B13C5
1930 Polk's Baltimore City Directory M-Film F189.B1A18
1936 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
1937 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
1940 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
1942 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18

Baltimore City Directories - 1950-Present

Date

Description

Call Number

1955 Polk's Baltimore Suburban Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A19
1956 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
1958 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
1959 Polk's Baltimore Suburban Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A19
1961 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOlIO F189.B1A18
1963 Polk's Baltimore Suburban Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A19
1964 Polk's Baltimore City Directory MD FOLIO F189.B1A18
1987 Baltimore/Annapolis 87: A comprehensive directory of the area's major institutions and the people who run them. MD F189.B1B33
1988 Baltimore/Annapolis 88 MD F189.B1B33
1989 Baltimore/Annapolis 89 MD F189.B1B33
1990-91 Baltimore/Annapolis 90-91 MD F189.B1B33
1991-92 Baltimore/Annapolis 91-92 MD F189.B1B33
1993-94 Baltimore/Annapolis 93-94 MD F189.B1B33
1995-96 Baltimore/Annapolis 1995-96 MD F189.B1B33