Skip to main content

Djuna Barnes Collection

Learn about resources for Djuna Barnes @ University of Maryland Libraries

Djuna Barnes Art

Hand colored copy of Djuna Barnes' "Ladies Almanack," published at Paris, France, 1928.

*Hand colored copy of Djuna Barnes' "Ladies Almanack," published at Paris, France, 1928.

This series consists of printing blocks and dummy covers for Barnes's Ladies Almanack, her original works of art, printed versions of her art, art by others, and postcards. It is arranged into seven sections. "Printing Blocks and Dummy Covers," consist of the blocks used to print Barnes's illustrations for Ladies Almanack and dummy covers for the 1972 edition of that work. "Original Drawings" consist primarily of portraits and unpublished drawings. The third section, "Original Drawings/Illustrations," includes drawings that were used as illustrations for her writings, arranged by publication. "Tearsheets" contain printed versions of her artworks, arranged by publication. There are three of Barnes's paintings in "Oil Paintings." "Art by Others" consists of art by others, including Thelma Wood and Emily Coleman, that formed part of Barnes's collection, arranged by artist. The last section,"Cards," includes postcards and picture cards that Barnes saved.

"August," by Djuna Barnes. Image depicting woman in tree, with three bees, from Ladies Almanack, page 47 (matted; ink), circa 1928.

*"August," by Djuna Barnes. Image depicting woman in tree, with three bees, from Ladies Almanack, page 47 (matted; ink), circa 1928.

Original works of art in Series VIII are fragile and are consulted only by appointment. For information and to secure permission or make an appointment, email archives-um@umd.edu.

 

Frontispiece: "She stepped out upon...," from Ladies Almanack, circa 1928, ink on paper, hand colored, 3.25 x 4.25 inches.

*Frontispiece: "She stepped out upon...," from Ladies Almanack, circa 1928, ink on paper, hand colored, 3.25 x 4.25 inches.

 

Djuna Barnes Photographs

This series consists of photographs, negatives, and some slides. It is divided into six sections. The first, "People," includes photographs of Djuna Barnes, her relatives, and friends and is arranged in chronological order. The scrapbook section consists of pages from a scrapbook assembled by Barnes, whose original arrangement was apparently destroyed before the Barnes papers were acquired. "Buildings and Miscellaneous Photographs" includes photographs of family homes, other buildings, and book covers, arranged in chronological order. The fourth section, "Djuna Barnes's Art" contains photographs of Barnes's artwork, subdivided into two parts, "Drawings and Paintings" and "Illustrations," the latter arranged by publication. "Art by Others" consists of photographs of artwork by others that formed part of Barnes's collection. It is arranged by artist. The last section, "Theatre," consists of photographs of the 1961 Swedish production of Barnes's play Antiphon.

Unidentified woman sitting on wall by ocean, same location as Series VII, 1.118, wearing hat and polka dot blouse, circa 1926-1931, negative

*Unidentified woman sitting on wall by ocean, same location as Series VII, 1.118, wearing hat and polka dot blouse, circa 1926-1931, negative