Skip to main content

Djuna Barnes Collection

Learn about resources for Djuna Barnes @ University of Maryland Libraries

Djuna Barnes Collection Finding Aid

Djuna Barnes Writings

This series includes drafts, fragments, corrected page proofs, notes and notebooks, and published versions of Barnes's writings. The series is divided into two sections: "Manuscripts and Proofs" and "Publications." Among the most important items in "Manuscripts and Proofs" are drafts and fragments of Nightwood, arranged to complement the critical edition edited by Cheryl J. Plumb (Normal, Ill.: Dalkey Archive Press, 1995). This section also contains numerous drafts of The Antiphon, including multiple copies of the Poet's Theatre version of 1956, and corrected page proofs of Barnes's later published works, including The Antiphon, Spillway, and Selected Works (an edition published in 1962 containing Nightwood, The Antiphon, and Spillway). A substantial portion of this series consists of the mostly unpublished poetry Barnes wrote over the last twenty-five years of her life. "Manuscripts and Proofs" are arranged alphabetically. The oversize "Manuscripts and Proofs" are listed after the first portion of "Publications."

"The Girl and the Gorilla," New York World Magazine, October 1914.

* "The Girl and the Gorilla," New York World Magazine, October 1914.

The other section within this series, "Publications," is comprised of Barnes's writings for newspapers and magazines between 1913 and 1931. The publications are arranged alphabetically. The oversize "Publications" are listed after the oversize "manuscripts and Proofs."

Djuna Barnes Correspondence

Djuna Barnes and Thelma Wood on beach in Provincetown, Massachusetts, circa 1925-1926.

* Djuna Barnes and Thelma Wood on beach in Provincetown, Massachusetts, circa 1925-1926.

This series contains letters to and from Barnes, notes, postcards, poems, notebooks, royalty statements, and printed matter received with correspondence. Correspondence relating to Nightwood includes that of Emily Coleman, T. S. Eliot, Thelma Wood, and Daniel Mahoney. The Antiphon is the subject of correspondence with Dag Hammarskjöld, Ragnar Eknar, Karl Gierow, Nancy Mazzocco, and Edwin Muir. Among Barnes's most extensive personal correspondents are James Stern, Samuel Peter Hoare, Peggy Guggenheim, Thelma Wood ("Simon"), Ernst "Putzi" Hanfstaengel, and Silas Glossop.

This series is arranged alphabetically by correspondent.

Djuna Barnes Manuscripts by Others

This series consists of two manuscript items that came into Barnes's possession: an Italian manuscript of unknown origin, ca. 1891-1895, and an adaptation of Barnes's short story "Aller et Retour" by Virginia Smiley.

Arrangement is chronological.

Djuna Barnes Printed Matter

This series, "Printed Matter," consists primarily of clippings and articles about Barnes and reviews of her writings. There is also a festschrift compiled for her eightieth birthday. In addition, there are files related to associates of Barnes, such as T. S. Eliot, Dag Hammarskjöld, and Edwin Muir, as well as printed items such as playbills and pamphlets.

The series is arranged alphabetically by subject and title. The list of oversize items, arranged alphabetically by subject and title, follows the list of items that are not oversize.

Djuna Barnes Serial Publications

This series, composed of publications Barnes saved over the years, is divided into two sections, "Book Catalogs" and "Serials." The book catalogs--from publishing companies such as Faber and Faber; Liveright Publications; and Farrar, Straus, and Cudahy--cover the period between 1934 and 1982. The serials include Sewanee Review, Partisan Review, Encounter, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters/National Institute of Arts and Letters, Proceedings. This section of the series covers the period from 1942 to 1982.

This series is arranged alphabetically and chronologically.

Djuna Barnes Family & Personal Papers

Photograph of Djuna Barnes in a scene from Leo Tolstoy's "The Power of Darkness," Theater Guild production and Garrick Theater, January 1920. Back inscription: (On Verso: "Tolstoy's Power of Darkness.' D. Barnes/middle figure, head bowd, hands praying posture./I think a Guild production, date God knows.")

*Photograph of Djuna Barnes in a scene from Leo Tolstoy's "The Power of Darkness," Theater Guild production and Garrick Theater, January 1920.
Back inscription: (On Verso: "Tolstoy's Power of Darkness.' D. Barnes/middle figure, head bowd, hands praying posture./I think a Guild production, date God knows.")

 

This series includes address books, biographical and genealogical information, correspondence, daybooks, financial records, marriage and divorce papers, notes and notebooks, passports, postcards, and poetry by Barnes family members. These materials illuminate Barnes's complex relations with her parents, Wald Barnes (also known as Brian Barnes, Harold Barnes, and Henry Budington, among other names) and Elizabeth Chappell Barnes, as well as her siblings, Thurn, Zendon, Saxon, and Shangar, and half-siblings, Muriel, Duane, and Buan. Of particular interest is her correspondence with her paternal grandmother, Zadel Gustafson, who exerted great influence over her son and his offspring. This series also contains material related to Barnes herself, including daybooks, official papers, financial records, and biographical information.

Arrangement is alphabetical by surname of family member.

Permission to Publish