This 3 volume set has over 2,600 topics relating to all areas of education in the United States. Volume 3 contains an extensive index and a bibliography organized into 41 subject areas.
UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
The first of its kind since the 1980s, this book provides authoritative definitions for more than 2,600 terms that apply to educational research, practice, and theory. The overall focus is on the most critical terms in education as used by current practitioners, yet references to significant historical events in education are also included.Each of the definitions is 25-250 words and has been written by a knowledgeable practitioner or researcher in the field. Included are acronyms and initialisms commonly used in the field, names and descriptions of relevant organizations, and important legal decisions relating to education. An extensive bibliography provides useful sources for further research. This reference work will be valuable for professionals in the K-12 setting, students of education, and educators and researchers in colleges of education. Librarians at academic, public, and school libraries will find the dictionary immensely useful in interpreting education terminology.
This e-book provides country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This e-book is available to UMCP faculty, currently enrolled UMCP students and UMCP staff. This encyclopedia is also available in print at McKeldin Library Reference Stacks LB15 .W87 2002.
The field of education has experienced extraordinary technological, societal and institutional change in recent years, making it one of the most fascinating yet complex fields of study in social science.
Unequalled in its combination of authoritative scholarship and comprehensive coverage, International Encyclopedia of Education 3rd edition succeeds two highly successful previous editions (1985, 1994) in aiming to encapsulate research in this vibrant field for the twenty-first century reader. Under development for five years, this work encompasses over 1,350 articles across 24 individual areas of coverage, and is expected to become the dominant resource in the field.
Education is a multidisciplinary and international field drawing on a wide range of social sciences and humanities disciplines and IEE3 comprehensively matches this diversity. The diverse background and multi-disciplinary subject coverage of the Editorial Board ensure that a balanced and objective academic framework was achieved. Working relationships with relevant international organizations provide have lent this project the requisite global outlook. The 1100 contributors represent over 100 countries, capturing a complete portrait of this evolving field.
* A totally new work, revamped with a wholly new editorial board, structure and brand-new list of meta-sections and articles
* Developed by an international panel of editors and authors drawn from senior academia
* Web-enhanced with supplementary multimedia audio and video files, hotlinked to relevant references and sources for further study