Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases.
Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles.
Watch these short video tutorials to learn how to search the databases
Doing research off-campus? Try out the UMD Libraries reload button! Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below), and whenever you come across a journal you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UMD Libraries proxy.
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.
Chrome or Safari:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B (in Chrome).
Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, we believe this link is safe.
*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal or database in the A to Z list.
Nonprint Media Services provides access to information in most film and video formats, including more than 800 hours of video-on-demand programming to the campus through the Films@UM digital research collection. You can search the catalog for videos and other nonprint resources.
To suggest a video, film or DVD not held by the UM Libraries, complete the Materials Request Form.
If after checking the catalog, you discover that the UM Libraries does not have a particular book you are looking for, please visit Suggestion of a Title for Purchase to recommend the title.
Note: When accessing these databases from off-campus, you will need to log in to Research Port using your Directory ID. (This is the same login you use for email, ELMS, ARES, and other campus services.)