Skip to main content

Archives and Archival Studies

Writing a paper? Looking for books or articles? Need help citing your sources? This guide can help!

The Basics - Getting Started with WorldCat UMD

WorldCat UMD is a discovery tool that searches libraries worldwide and allows you to search multiple high quality sources at one time. You can access WorldCat by visiting https://umaryland.on.worldcat.org/discovery

Why use WorldCat UMD?  WorldCat UMD has been optimized for discovery. This means that even if you are not an expert you are likely to come across something useful for your research. If you are an expert, you may come across new resources that you wouldn't have found otherwise.

New to WorldCat UMD?  Just type in one or two keywords. WorldCat will give you a Google-like experience.

Advanced searcher? Explore the Advanced Search page, from the Advanced Search page click on 'Add / Remove Databases', and use index labels

 

For full details on using WorldCat UMD, please visit this guide

What is in WorldCat UMD?

Here is some of what you can find in WorldCat UMD:

  • Articles
  • Journal titles
  • DVDs
  • Government Documents
  • Historical Manuscripts
  • Print Books
  • E-Books
  • Sound Recordings
  • Dissertations
  • Music Scores
  • Internet Resources
  • etc.

What is NOT in WorldCat UMD?

  • Some of the 300+ databases in Database Finder are ONLY available through Database Finder directly.
  • Some of the UMD Special Collections.
  • McKeldin's popular reading collection.
  • Most unprocessed gifts and "on order" materials.
  • Course reserve materials.

Start Your Book Search Right Here in the Classic Catalog

Use the Classic Catalog to search for books, journal titles, government documents, nonprint media, and other materials owned by the UM Libraries. Check the box for "USMAI (All Campuses)" in order to search the entire UM System at once. The search box below will open the Catalog and launch your search in a new window.

 

Books owned by other libraries in the system can be ordered at the computer for delivery to College Park(or elsewhere); click on "Request."

 

Try subject browse searches on the following Library of Congress subject headings: "archives", "records--management" ","archival materials".

 

You may request material not owned in the University of Maryland System through Interlibrary Loan.

UMD Classic Catalog

UM Libraries Catalog: Use the Catalog to search for books, journal titles, government documents, nonprint media, and other materials owned by the UM Libraries. Check the box for "USMAI (All Campuses)" in order to search the entire UM System at once. For best results, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (viewable within individual records or by using the "Subject Beginning with..." search) or consult a reference librarian. Some examples of subject headings in archives are:

Archival materials
Archival material -- Conservation and restoration
Archival materials -- Digitization
Archival Resources
Archives
Archives -- Administration
Archives -- Automation
Archives -- Conservation and restoration
Archives -- Management
Archives -- Reference Services
Archives -- Security Measures
Cataloging of archival materials
Digital Preservation
Electronic Records
Records--Management
Public Records
Encoded Archival Description

There is also an Archives Reference collection in Hornbake Library.  The Archives Reference Collection is in the Maryland Room. The Archives Reference collection contains many of the latest archival textbooks and some journals in hard copy, as well as a complete run of the American Archivist.   To search this collection do an Advanced Search.

The simpler way to search is when the page is loaded enter your search terms in the query boxes. Go to location and in the drop down menu select Archives Reference. Click search. Your results will include books and journals only in Archives Reference.