Skip to main content

The Bible, Literature and Literary Criticism

his guide points to resources which treat the Bible as literature.

Journals vs databases, which one to use?

University of Maryland Libraries subscribe to thousands of periodicals, including journals, newspapers and popular magazines, in all kinds of formats. The Catalog is the primary list where you can find all our subscriptions. You can also browse Journal Finder for the list of periodicals available to us in an electronic format only.  Please remember that for this class, many journals you might need might exist only in print. The Catalog and Journal Finder are best to use when browsing for a particular journal.  However when doing research on a specific topic it is more efficient to use library databases (see below) searching on that topic.  

What is a Database?

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine.  Databases can be subject specific or general in nature.  A subject specific database will deal with research issues pertaining to that specific subject and from that point of view.  For example, Women's Studies International is a subject database for Women's Studies, Historical Abstracts is a subject database for history.  General or multidisciplinary databases, like Academic Search Complete will include articles on more general or multidisciplinary topics from a variety of different disciplines.  Often these databases are an excellent starting point particularly for undergraduate research.  Use databases to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to your topic. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available databases in a variety of subjects.  For your convenience I have preselected UM databases that I believe can be relevant for your research in this subject area, and divided them into "CORE" and "Related." 

Selective Databases

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Use the databases below to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to your topic. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available Jewish Studies, History, Religion, and other relevant subject databases.