Skip to main content

AASP 202: Black Culture in the United States

This online course tutorial will assist researchers in identifying resources on research topics related to African Americans.

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly articles are peer-reviewed or refereed. Such articles are only accepted for publication after an editorial board of scholars and experts review and approve the quality of the research. 

Scholarly articles are written for a professional audience; contain the jargon or language of the discipline; provide footnotes to studies that support the research; includes a bibliography; usually provides an abstract or summary of the research; and scholarly articles are written by researchers, scholars, and experts.

Click on Identifying Periodical Types for more discussion about scholarly articles.

To locate scholarly articles on your topic, begin your research at the homepage of the University of Maryland Libraries. Click on the Find Databases tab. Choose from the variety of databases. Some databases will display a box for you to check mark, if you wish to retrieve only scholarly articles.  EBSCO databases provide this feature, as well as some of the other producers of databases.

 

Scholarly Books

Scholarly books are published by university and college presses, such as Harvard University Press, Oberlin College Press, etc.  Also, professional organizations publish scholarly books.  Examples are the American Psychological Association and the American Sociological Association.  If you cannot determine whether a book is scholarly, then examine the book for the author's credentials.  Was the book written by a professor, expert, etc.? 

Click Identifying a Scholarly Monograph for more discussion about scholarly books.

To locate scholarly books, begin at the homepage of the University of Maryland Libraries.  Next, click on the Advanced Search link, to customize your search by format (e.g. books, e-books, etc.) language, and publication year(s).

 

Scholarly Internet Resources

Google Scholar provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

If you are considering whether or not to use websites as part of your research, please click on Evaluating Web Sites.