Skip to main content

WorldCat UMD

News, tutorials, and tips for using Worldcat UMD.

Limiting Searches by Library Collection

You can limit a search by individual library or collection in one of two ways:

1. UMD campus libraries, Shady Grove, and U.S. Government Documents can be selected from the library drop-down menu on the main search screen:

2. Limits to these and other UMD Libraries collections may also be achieved by entering a search query in the WorldCat UMD search box that includes the index label b8: and the 4-character code for the desired collection, e.g., kw: bridges b8:UMBX to search for resources related to bridges in the National Trust for Historic Preservation collection in Hornbake Library. The available location codes are shown in the table on the right:

Location Codes

Library location Included in WorldCat UMD Library limit... WorldCat Location code
Architecture Library Architecture Library UMAA
Architecture Library Special Collections Architecture Library UMAC
Architecture Library Periodicals Architecture Library UMAS
Architecture Library Reference Architecture Library UMAR
Art Library Art Library UMAT
Art Library Microform Art Library UMA6
Art Library Periodicals Art Library UMAG
Art Library Reference Art Library UMAE
Broadcasting Archives Broadcasting Archives, Hornbake Library UMBC
Library of American Broadcasting Broadcasting Archives, Hornbake Library UMB2
National Public Broadcasting Archives Broadcasting Archives, Hornbake Library UMB4
EPSL Engineering and Physical Sciences Library UMPE
EPSL Microform Engineering and Physical Sciences Library UMPF
EPSL Periodicals Engineering and Physical Sciences Library UMPS
EPSL Reference Engineering and Physical Sciences Library UMPR
EPSL Technical Reports Center Engineering and Physical Sciences Library UMPO
Hornbake Library Prange Gordon W. Prange Collection, Hornbake Library UMP9
Maryland Room Archives & Manuscripts Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMB1
Maryland Room Barnes Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMA2
Maryland Room Historical Manuscripts Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMA4
Maryland Room KA Porter Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMA1
Maryland Room Maryland Manuscripts Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMA7
Maryland Room Marylandia Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMCM
Maryland Room National Trust Library Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMBX
Maryland Room Rare Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMB3
Maryland Room Special Collections Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMB8
Maryland Room University Publications Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMA8
Maryland Room University Records Maryland Room Collections, Hornbake Library UMA9
McKeldin Library McKeldin Library UMCP
McKeldin Library Reference McKeldin Library UMCR
McKeldin Library East Asia McKeldin Library UMUE
McKeldin Library Juvenile McKeldin Library UMBE
McKeldin Library Periodicals McKeldin Library UMCS
McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm- Microform McKeldin Library UMCC
McKeldin Library Staff Resources McKeldin Library UMA5
Performing Arts Library Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library UMAM
Performing Arts Library IPAM Collection Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library UMB9
Performing Arts Library MENC Collection Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library UMB7
Performing Arts Library Microform Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library UMAF
Performing Arts Library Paged Collections Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library UMAZ
Performing Arts Library Periodicals Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library UMAD
Performing Arts Library Reference Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library UMAQ
Performing Arts Library Paged Collections Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library  UMAZ
Performing Arts Library Special Collections Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library UMB6
Library Media Srvs Library Media Services, Hornbake Library UMAH
Library Media Srvs Circulating Collection Library Media Services, Hornbake Library UMBD
Shady Grove Library Priddy Library at Shady Grove UMUN
Shady Grove Library Juvenile Priddy Library at Shady Grove UMUJ
Shady Grove Library Media
Priddy Library at Shady Grove UMUM
Shady Grove Library Microform Priddy Library at Shady Grove UMUK
Shady Grove Library Periodicals Priddy Library at Shady Grove UMUL
Shady Grove Library Reference Priddy Library at Shady Grove UMUM
McKeldin Library US Government Documents U.S. Government Documents, McKeldin Library [also in McKeldin Library limit] UMPT
Off-Site Shelving University of Maryland, College Park UMAO
All UMCP Libraries University of Maryland, College Park UMC
Chemistry Library White Memorial Chemistry Library UMPC
Chemistry Library Microform White Memorial Chemistry Library UMPD
Chemistry Library Periodicals White Memorial Chemistry Library UMPJ
Chemistry Library Reference White Memorial Chemistry Library UMPB