Skip to main content

WorldCat UMD

News, tutorials, and tips for using Worldcat UMD.

Advanced Search

Click Advanced Search...

to get the Advanced Search screen:

Advanced Search Screen

Advanced Search Tips

More search options are available by clicking Advanced Search.

  1. Select a database to search. WorldCat.org is the default database. To change databases click Add/Remove databases. See the box below.
  2. Search by keyword, author, title, subject, journal source, ISBN, ISSN, or OCLC accession number.
  3. The Popular Limits allow you to limit by peer-reviewed content or full-text articles.
  4. The Narrow your search box allows you to limit your search by library, year, audience, content, format, or language.
  5. For even more advanced options, such as Boolean (and, or, not) and Index Labels (ti:, au:, su:, etc.) see the Booleans, Index Labels, Phrases, Truncation, Wildcards tab.

Add/Remove Databases

The default WorldCat.org database includes a great number of specific databases. See the complete list here (or use the link below).

In addition, you can add still more databases to your search. You can also remove databases if you wish to search a smaller set or even a specific database.

For example, if you want to search a music topic you might want to deselect WorldCat.org and add the following: RILM, Music Index, Academic Search Premier.

Another example, if you want to search a public policy topic or issue, you might want to deselect WorldCat.org and add the following: PAIS International, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, and Academic Search Premier.

You can add or subtract as many databases as you like. Be aware, though that some database search slower than others and might slow your search a bit.