Skip to main content

Using RILM

A guide on how to use RILM, a database on scholarly works concerning music.

Summary

These are the basic fields that are available for searching within RILM, as well as definitions for what information is held in a given field.

The most useful fields to be aware of and check are the "Title," "Document Type," "Author," "Major Topics," "Subject," and "Publisher," "Source" (or sometimes "Collected work" if the article is part of a group of essays).

"Title" and "Author" and "Publisher" are self explanatory (and are really helpful for finding and citing articles and books).

"Document types" tell you what format the work is in (such as a book or a journal article) and these include:

  • Article in a periodical
  • Review of book
  • Book: monograph
  • Article in a collection of essays

"Major Topics" are the overarching subject of the article (akin to the way Genres work) and these include things like:

  • 51: Performance practice and notation--Performance practice. To ca. 1600
  • 93: Music in liturgy and ritual--Catholic
  • 24: Western art music--History. To ca. 1600 (Renaissance)

"Subjects" tell you the main focus of an article and these include things like:

  • text setting -- Gregorian chant
  • form -- Šostakovič, D.D. -- quartets, string, nos. 1-7
  • Darcy, Warren -- writings -- Elements of sonata theory -- applied to Šostakovič string quartets
  • dance music--by composer -- Šostakovič, D.D. -- waltzes -- quartets, string, nos.1-7

"Source" (or "Collected Work" sometimes) shows up when there are reviews of books, or journal articles, as opposed to books. These usually have the name of the journal as well as the volume number, issue, and page number and other pertinent information that is helpful in finding the article or book.

And don't forget to check the "Publication Date" to make sure that your article is not outdated!

Field Definitions

These are a list of all the possible parts of the record.
Field NameDescription
Title The title of the record.
English Title The title of the record translated into English from another language.
Romanized Title The title of the record displayed using Roman characters.
Added Title Entry Uniform title for records of a general nature without a unique title.
Series Lists the series information regarding the record's publication information such as series title, number, and volume.
Non-Roman Series Lists the series information regarding the record's publication information such as series title, number, and volume using non-Roman characters.
Record Type Indicates whether the record is a Review Record, Main Record, or Collected Work.
Document Type Indicates the published form of the document.
Reviewers The name of the person who reviewed the publication.
Authors The authors of the document.
Other Contributors Lists contributors to the creation of the record other than the authors.
Sponsors The organization that sponsored the creation of the article.
Major Topics Lists the record's RILM Classification Group Number, Classification Group Text, or Classification Subdivision.
Subjects The subjects describing the record, which may include main headings, subheadings, and subdivisions.
Abstract The summary of the article.
Abstractor Name Names the author of the abstract.
Publication Date Lists the date of the document's publication.
Source Lists a record's journal title, volume, issue, pagination, and special features when applicable.
Collected Work The book in which a chapter, essay, or review may appear.
Dissertation Source Lists dissertation information such as degree granted, sources, and institution granting the degree.
Conference Source Lists information pertaining to a conference of academic note such as conference name, date, and location.
Instrument Details Lists information on the technical drawing of an instrument such as instrument name, maker, and location and year it was created.
Drawing Collection The collection, museum, or library that holds an instrument's technical drawing.
Edition Lists information about the publications edition such as whether it is a reprint, first edition, second edition, revised edition, etc.
Publisher Lists the name of a record's publisher, and pertinent departments of the publisher.
Non-Roman Publisher Lists the name of a record's publisher, and pertinent departments of the publisher using non-Roman characters.
Country of Publication Lists the record's country of publication.
Pagination The pages of a publication in which the article appeared.
Physical Description Lists special features of an article such as charts, diagrams, photos, etc.
Languages The language in which the article was originally published.
Original Language The language from which the article was translated.
Summary Language Indicates the language of the summary that describes the article.
Notes Language The language of the media's liner notes.
Media Source Lists the organization which produced or distributed the publication or recording.
Medium Indicates the record's medium of distribution such as disc, cassette, video cassette, microfiche, online, etc.
Catalog Number The music catalog number.
Duration The duration of the film or audio recording.
Review Information Lists information about the item being reviewed, and provides links to other reviews of this item.
Reviewed Item For review records, this indicates the record number of the item being reviewed.
Additional Citations Indicates the first and second journal cited when an article is published in more than one journal.
Addtional Imprints Lists publisher information if a book was published more than one location or by more than one publisher.
URL Various resources available on the World Wide Web.
CODEN The CODEN of the original journal an article was published in.
ISSN The International Standard Serial Number of the journal an article was published in.
UMI Number The UMI (University Microfilms) dissertation number.
ISBN The International Standard Book Number.
LCCN The Library of Congress Control Number.
ISMN The International Standard Music Number.
Shelf Number The Library of Congress Control Number.
RILM Source Lists information that is in the printed form of the RILM database such as review year, volume, and entry number.
Accession Number A unique number identifying the record.

Searchable Fields in RILM

Searchable TagDescriptionExample
AA Abstract Available Flag
[Phrase Indexed]

Performs an exact search for the value Y or N. Y indicates that the records contain an abstract.

AA Y
AB Abstract
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in the record's abstract.

AB music in literature
AN Accession Number
[Phrase indexed]

Searches the exact identification number of a record in the database.

AN 2004-04599
AR Author
[Phrase Indexed]

Performs an exact search for an article's author, in the format of last name, first name, and middle initial if available.

Note: The author could also be a corporate name or musical band.

AR Irwin, Colin

AR Rolling Stone
AU Author
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in a record's author fields.

AU Irwin
AV Media Publication Information
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in a record's media source, ISMN, and catalog number.

AV Musical Traditions

AV Ea 581-1933
BT Collection of Essays
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in the title of the book in which the record was published.

BT J.S. Bach
CA Sponsors
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in the record's for the studio and any other associated producer of the listed recording or film.

CA Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt
CN Meeting Information (City/Name/Year)
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in a conference's name, location and year.

CN "Convegno Internazionale di Studi"

CN Salzburg

CN 2002
CO CODEN
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for records that have an exact match of the CODEN designation assigned to a periodical title by the Chemical Abstracts Service.

CO LIBTA3
CW Collected Work Number
[Word Indexed]

Searches for the collected work number which is stored within the records and will return all constituent parts.

Note: The collected work number is the accession number of the main collected work.

CW 2004-04599
DD Dissertation Degree/Institution
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords for the level of degree awarded as the result of a dissertation or scholarly paper. Also, searches keywords for a degree granting institution's name, and disciplines and degrees offered.

Note: Use of abbreviations is common (e.g. Univ., Inst., Tech., etc.).

DD PhD

DD Uppsala Universitet
DE Subjects
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match in a record's assigned main headings, subheadings and/or subdivisions.

DE "performers--saxophone -- Adderley, C."
DF Dissertation Field
[Word Indexed]

Keyword search of the records for the listed degree of discipline.

DF Musicology
DN Disseration UMI Number
[Word Indexed]

Searches for the number assigned by University Microfilms International for ordering dissertations.

DN DP11616
DS Recording and Film Distributor
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of the organization providing the record's source information.

DS Musica Omnia
DT Date
[Date Indexed]

Searches for the date of a record's publication in the format of CCYYMMDD.

DT 19670601
FT Full Text Available
[Phrase Indexed]

Performs an exact search for the value Y or N. Y indicates that the records have full text available.

FT N
GD Geographic Data
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords for the location of an instrument, and/or the location in which a document was published.

GD Amsterdam
IB ISBN (International Standard Book Number)
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for the exact match of a record's ISBN without the hyphens between numbers.

IB 0810815044
II Instrument Name
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of an instrument's name.

II Sopranino recorder
IP Issue Number
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for a publication's issue number.

IP 1
IS ISSN (International Standard Serial Number)
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for the exact match of a record's ISSN without the hyphens between numbers.

IS 00359610
JN Source
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of the source in which a record was published

JN Medical problems of performing artists
JT Journal Title
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords for the journal tite of the article's source.

JT "La revue musicale"
LA Language of Text
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords for the language in which a document was originally published, as well as any languages in which the document was subsequently published.

LA German
LB Recording Label/Film Studio
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of the organization responsible for the publishing of a document.

LB Celestial Harmonies
LC LCCN Number
[Word Indexed]

Searches for the classification number assigned by the Library of Congress to organize various library materials.

LC ML207.C8
LS Language of Summary
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords for the language of a document's summary.

LS Czech
MC Collected Works Flag
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of a RILM Categorical Document Type assigned to a record.

MC Collected Work
MD Instrument Location (Technical Drawings)
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords for the collection, museum, or library that holds the technical drawing of and instrument.

MD Haags Gemeentemuseum
MG Major Topic Groups
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of RILM's Classification Group Text.

MG "Historical Musicology (Western Music)"
MI Instrument (Technical Drawings)
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in a record's instrument information fields, such as instrument name, maker of the instrument, and where and when the instrument was created.

MI Grand Piano
MN Music Number (ISMN)
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of the unique ISMN assigned to musical scores.

MN M-060-11176-1
MP Major Topics Phrase
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for exact matches of RILM's Classification Group Numbers, Classification Group Text, or Classification Subdivisions.

MP 15

MP Collected writings

MP Festschriften
MR Main Record Indicator
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of the text "Main Record" which indicates a record is part of RILM's main collection.

MR Main Record
MS Recording and Film Catalogue Number
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of the publisher's catalog number.

MS CCD90/079
MT Major Topics
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in the text of the RILM Classification terms. The classification terms consist of a classification number, classification text, and subdivisions.

MT 15 : Collected writings--Festschriften
OL Translated Language
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords for the language from which the original document was translated.

OL French
PB Publication Information
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords for a document's publication information, such as publisher, edition information, and location of publisher.

PB Institut für Aufführungspraxis der Musik
PD Physical Description
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords that describe a document's special features, pagination, and type of publication.

PD illustrations

PD 105-109

PD print
PL Publication Country
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in a document's country of publication field.

PL Spain
PT Document Type
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match within the records for the specified type of published document or record type.

Note: Record Type search values are "Main Record", "Collected Work" or "Review".

PT Dissertation
RA Review Available
[Phrase Indexed]

Performs an exact search for the value Y or N. Y indicates that the records contain reviews.

RA Y
RN Reviewer Name
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in the records for reviewer names.

RN Pruett, James W
RP RILM Volume & Entry Number
[Word Indexed]

Searches for the RILM Volume or Entry Number, as it corresponds to the print version of RILM.

Note: Currently, all electronic versions from 1998 to present may not be in its final form; therefore, some volume and entry numbers are subject to change.

RP 35
RR Review Record Type
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of a review record's type. The value searches is "Review."

RR Review
RV Peer-Reviewed
[Phrase Indexed]

Performs an exact search for the value Y or N. Y indicates that the articles are peer-reviewed.

RV Y
SE Series Title
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of the title of a series of publications.

SE Occasional Papers
SO Source
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in the record's source document field. Source documents include conference name, series title, journal title or parts, and book imprints.

SO theory of music
SP Start Page
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for an exact match of a record's start page in the source of publication.

SP 296
ST Series Title
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in a document's series title.

ST American Musicological Society
SU Subject
[Word Indexed]

Searches for keywords in a record's assigned main headings and subheadings.

SU computer applications
TD Collected Work of AN
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for the AN of the collected work which is stored within the records and will return all constituent parts.

Note: The AN of the collected work is the accession number of the main collected work.

TD 2004-04599
TI Title
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords in a record's English and non-English title field

TI church music
TP RILM Categorical Document Type
[Word Indexed]

Searches keywords for the categorical document type for listed code or corresponding text.

TP "MR"

TP "Music or sound recording"
TX All Text
[Word Indexed]

Performs a keyword search of all the database's searchable fields. Using the TX field code will cause the search to look for the keyword in the full text as well as the citation record.

TX theory of music
UR Document URL
[Word Indexed]

Searches either the elements or the entire universal resource locator (URL) of an electronically published document referenced in a RILM record.

UR http://www2.uji.es/trans/
VI Volume Number
[Phrase Indexed]

Searches for a publication's volume number.

VI 2
YR Publication Year
[Date Indexed]

Searches the date in which a document was published/produced in the format of CCYY.

YR 1999