Skip to main content

GVPT 473: Legislatures & Legislation (Uslaner)

Research guide for GVPT 473: Legislatures & Legislation

For articles about the subject of your bill:
(From your syllabus)
"the subject matter of the legislation - is this a bill with a lot of popular support or is it highly controversial? What can you find out about public opinion on this bill (or the more general idea behind the legislation)? If you can't find public attitudes about a specific bill on gun control, for example, what can you find out about gun control in general?"  

Start with the Academic Search Complete database. This is a multidisciplinary database, covering all subjects. You can also add International Political Science Abstracts.

In addition, depending on the subject of your bill, add additional databases such as:
Education = Education Source
Business = Business Source Complete / EconLit
Health = Health Policy Reference Center / Health Source - Consumer Edition / Medline
Family = Family Studies Abstracts / Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Crime = Criminal Justice Abstracts

To search multiple databases together, get into one database and then click on - choose databases - and add the others. Or, you can search all databases. 

If searching on the specific bill, use quotes:
"Rapid DNA Act"
"Rapid DNA Act of 2017 "
"SEC Regulatory Accountability Act"

If searching on the subject:
"human tafficking"
abortion
abortion and "health coverage"
abortion and ("health coverage" or "health plan*" or "insurance plan*") and subsidies
rural and "small business"
You can also add keywords to the subject:
legislation or regulation or law
abortion and "health coverage" and legislation

Try searching the web for additional information about your bill.
Place the name of the bill in quotes:
"Abolish Human Trafficking Act of 2017"
Limit results to documents from associations/organizations:
"human trafficking" site:org

Sources and strategies for locating Public Opinion.

Use Nexis Uni to locate news articles about your bill and your topic in general.
1. Place bill name in quotes:
"Modernizing the Interstate Placement of Children in Foster Care Act"

Once in Results you can expand the Publication Type to filter:

 

For articles about the subject of your bill:
(From your syllabus)
"the subject matter of the legislation - is this a bill with a lot of popular support or is it highly controversial? What can you find out about public opinion on this bill (or the more general idea behind the legislation)? If you can't find public attitudes about a specific bill on gun control, for example, what can you find out about gun control in general?"  

Search strategies:
1. abortion and "public opinion"
abortion and legislation
abortion and "family planning" and legislation
 

2.  You may also want your word/s to be closer together within the article by using the w/#
examples: 
abortion w/5 "family planning"
privacy w/5 "personal information" 
"student loans" w/5 (legislation or policy or policies)

3. Limit search to the headline and lead paragraphs:
hlead("student loan*" and (legislation or policy or policies)

 

Loading