American Library Association (ALA): http://www.ala.org
The American Library Association, "The Voice of America's Libraries," is the oldest and largest library association in the world, with more than 64,000 members. They provide library advocacy and support in key "action areas," including Diversity, Education and Continuous Learning, Equity of Access, Intellectual Freedom, and "21st Century Literacy." Their web page includes a number of useful resources: Visit the ALA Library for statistical fact sheets, bibliographies, and "how-to" guides for libraries and the 11 divisions.
American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
American Society for Information Science and Technology (ASIST)
American Theological Library Association (ATLA)
Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS-NA)
Association of Research Libraries (ARL)
Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS): http://www.imls.gov
Created by the Museum and Library Services Act of 1996, IMLS is "a federal grant- making agency that promotes leadership, innovation, and a lifetime of learning by supporting the nation's museums and libraries." See the list of Publications, Conferences and Resources.
International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions
Medical Library Association (MLA)
Music Library Association
Reforma (National association to promote library services to Spanish-speaking populations)
Special Libraries Association (SLA): http://www.sla.org
An international association dedicated to helping "its members serve their customers more effectively and succeed in an increasingly challenging environment of information management and technology." The website provides links to SLA Publications and Products, and an online Career Center.
Theatre Library Association (TLA)
Urban Libraries Council
ARMA: The Association for Information Management Professionals (www.arma.org):
Established in 1955, ARMA International is a not-for-profit association and the leading authority on managing records and information-paper and electronic. ARMA offers invaluable resources such as: Legislative and regulatory updates; Standards and best practices; Technology trends and applications; Live and Web-based education; Marketplace news and analysis; Books & videos on managing records and information. ARMA also publishes The Information Management Journal.
Association of Canadian Archivists (archivists.ca):
Established in 1975 and incorporated in 1978, the Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA) provides leadership for everyone engaged in the preservation of Canada's Documentary Heritage. ACA encourages awareness of archival activities and developments and the importance of archives to modern society. ACA also publishes the prestigious journal Archivaria, as well as books and "occasional papers."
Australian Society of Archivists (www.archivists.org.au):
Formed in 1975, The Australian Society of Archivists (ASA) is "the peak professional body for archivists in Australia." The Society has published the journal Archives and Manuscripts since 1955. Website includes links to many papers from past ASA conferences.
Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference (MARAC) (www.lib.umd.edu/MARAC):
Begun in 1972, MARAC is a volunteer, regional consortium of archivists who live and work in the states of New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, Virginia, West Virginia, and in the District of Columbia. The group publishes Mid-Atlantic Archivist.
NARA: U.S. National Archives & Records Administration (www.archives.gov):
NARA is an independent Federal agency that oversees the management of all Federal records. Their huge web site contains mountains of information useful to archives students. Use the Access to Archival Databases System to search NARA's 50 million+ electronic records holdings; use the Archival Research Catalog, the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries. The Archives Library Information Center (ALIC) at the College Park facility has an extensive collection on archives and records management. The College Park facility's address is: Archives Library Information Center (NWCCA), Room 2380, 8601 Adelphi Road, College Park, MD 20740-6001.
National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators (NAGARA)
"NAGARA is a professional organization dedicated to the effective use and management of government information." Their core purpose is "to promote the availability of our documentary legacy by improving the quality of records and information management at all levels of government." The Association publishes the newsletters Clearinghouse and Crossroads.
Society of American Archivists (www.archivists.org):
"Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national archival professional association. SAA's mission is to serve the educational and informational needs of more than 5,000 individual and institutional members and to provide leadership to ensure the identification, preservation, and use of records of historical value." SAA publishes the journal American Archivist and the Archival Outlook Newsletter and offers many continuing education programs for archivists. See also the Directory of Archival Organizations to locate national and local archival groups in the U.S. and Canada.
Society of Archivists (UK) (www.archives.org.uk):
The UK's Society of Archivists "exists to promote the care and preservation of archives and the better administration of archive repositories to advance the training of its members and to encourage relevant research and publication." They publish the Journal of the Society of Archivists, "a leading international journal in the field of archives, conservation and records management."