Skip to main content

Finding Music Scores

A guide to finding music scores in the UM Libraries, especially the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library.

Uncataloged Scores in the Performing Arts Library

Most uncataloged gift collections of scores in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library have inventories. These collections include:

20th/21st-Century Consort Score Collection: many scores fully cataloged, but for complete inventory, contact Special Collections in Performing Arts

American Composers Alliance Scores on Deposit: Online inventory

Contemporary Music Project Archives Scores: Online inventory

International Clarinet Association Research Center Score Collection: Online inventory

Piano Music Score Collection: contact International Piano Archives at Maryland

Following is a partial list of score collections that have been inventoried by staff in Special Collections in Performing Arts. Some printed inventories are shelved in the Lowens Room for Special Collections of the PA Library. Contact SCPA for more information.

  • American Bandmasters Association Research Center Scores
  • Community Songbooks
  • Gillian B. Anderson Film Music Scores
  • Ginn & Co. Folk Music Collection
  • Maryland Sheet Music Collection
  • Minichini Band Scores
  • National Association of Wind and Percussion Instructors Research Center Scores
  • Manuscript and printed scores of individual composers, including Philip Gordon, Alice Parker, Claude T. Smith, Lynn Steele, and George Tremblay
  • School Music Textbooks (historical collection)