Skip to main content

German Expressionism Collection

This guide provides a listing of materials available in the Maryland Room relating to the German Expressionism movement.

About the Collection

About the German Expressionist Serials Collection

The German Expressionist Serials collection contains 68 titles spanning the period between 1903-1955, concentrated primarily between the years 1912-1925. Titles include the influential journals Der Sturm and Die Aktion and the more established Das Kunstblatt, as well as copies of Die Sichel and Die Rote Erde with hand signed prints by artists such as Josef Achmann and Otto Ritschl. Expressionism was an international movement in the visual arts, literature and theater that flourished particularly in Germany between 1905 and 1925. Expressionism thrived in the years leading up to World War I and continued to be a force after the war ended. The rise of National Socialism effectively ended the movement in Germany, where it was deemed "degenerate" by the Nazi regime.

The German Expressionist Serials Collection is part of a larger collection of rare books and materials related to the arts in Germany in the first half of the Twentieth Century. Many of those materials can be found in the University Libraries' Online Catalog.  E-mail the subject specialist or call (301) 405-9212 for more information.

Serials Inventory

Below is a list if German Expressionism serials available in Special Collections at the University of Maryland Libraries.  Click on a title to view the full catalog record.

  • Merz              
  • Nyland