Skip to main content

Philosophy

How to do research in Philosophy.

Database Search Tips

Log in:  Most databases allow you to create a user login, which will enable you to save your searches.

Find It:  If there does not appear to be full text provided for an article you need, click the "Find It" button to see if it can be found elsewhere online, or if the University of Maryland owns a print copy.

Advanced Search:  Most databases have advanced search options that will allow refine your search to find relevant, scholarly sources for your paper.

Databases

Journal articles and other resources are best found by searching in one or more database.   Databases are usually subscription resources that bring articles and other materials from a variety of sources (including professional journals) into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Use the databases below to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to your topic.

To search the available databases, go to the Library Home Page, and then click on the Research Port link.  From here, you can either search by database name or by subject area.  Be sure to read about many databases before beginning your searches.  You will want to start your search in the best database for your topic that you can find.  Beginning in a mediocre database will make searching difficult.

Below is a list of links to databases that contain a substantial number of journal articles and other resources in the field of Philosophy.    Some of the databases link to the full text of the articles; others do not.  The database that concentrates on the premier journals in the field is Philosopher's Index.