Skip to main content

American Civil War: Resources in Special Collections

A guide to resources on the American Civil War using materials from the University of Maryland Special Collections in Hornbake Library.

Locating Books on Historic Civil War Sites

Browse the list on the right for a selection of resources on Civil war historic sites and battlefields that are available in the Maryland Room.  You may also use the Subject Headings below to search the University of Maryland Library online catalog for resources on Civil War historic sites and battlefields.

To search by subject heading, select "Subject beginning with..." on the drop-down menu. Then enter one of the terms below.

  • Battlefields -- Conservation and restoration -- United States

  • Historic sites -- United States -- Directories

  • United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Battlefields

  • United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Battlefields -- Conservation and restoration

  • United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Battlefields -- Guidebooks

  • United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Monuments 

  • United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Monuments -- Guidebooks

Historic Sites, Monuments, and Battlefields

Below is a selection of resources on Civil War historic sites and battlefields that are available in the Maryland Room. Additional titles can be searched using the online catalog.

Additional Resources on Historical Sites

In addition to resources on the preservation of Civil War monuments and battlefields, the National Trust Library has two postcard collections, the National Trust Library Historic Postcard Collection and the Institute for American Deltiology Postcard Collection, which feature images of Civil War historic sites across the United States.    

Many of these Civil War site postcards have been digitized and made available online through the Digital Collection @ the University of Maryland, a searchable digital repository of scanned materials from the University of Maryland's libraries. 

To locate these materials, type "Civil War postcard" into the keyword search box on the Digital Collections homepage to view a selection of digitized postcards related to Civil War historic sites, battlefields, and monuments.