Skip to main content

American Civil War: Resources in Special Collections

A guide to resources on the American Civil War using materials from the University of Maryland Special Collections in Hornbake Library.

Maryland Map Collection Online Database

The Maryland Map Collection is an online database that can be used to search and browse maps from the Maryland Collection, located in Hornbake Library. The database provides information about many rare early maps of Maryland as well as more modern maps produced by state and local governments. Some selected maps have been digitized and are available on site.  Maps that have not be digitized may be viewed in the Maryland Room

To search the maps, simply enter keywords or dates in the search box on the upper right side of the screen. 

Use the browse maps option, located just below the search box, to sort maps according to cities/towns, counties, countries, states, MD regional, railroads, and waterways.

You may also sort search results according to year, title, or available image.  Simply click on the appropriate subject heading to sort.

The Digitized Maps link will retrieve all maps available as digitized images.  Click on a title to view the full map record and the accompanying image.  You can also search within these results by entering keywords or dates in the search box located on the upper right side of the screen.

Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies

In addition to the reports, letters, and other textual documents, the The War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies includes an atlas containing an extensive set of battlefield maps, illustrations, military campaign plans, and other land surveys corresponding to events spanning the Civil War.  

These maps and illustrations were created to support battle reports and correspondence covered in the War of the Rebellion records.  They are a wonderful visual resource for studying military operations and campaigns of both the Union and Confederate forces.

You can browse the War of the Rebellion records and locate individual maps and illustrations as they are referenced throughout the text.  You can also browse a PDF inventory to locate maps independent of the text.  Digitized copies of both the War of the Rebellion records and the accompanying atlas are also available online.  

 

Image: (Above, Left) Map of the Battle of Murfreesborough, Tennessee, December 31, 1862 to January 3, 1863. The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies Atlas: Part 7, Plate 31, No. 1.

Image: (Above) Portion of plate showing Union and Confederate Army uniforms.   The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies Atlas: Part 35, Plate 172.