There are multiple ways to use this guide. The resources are listed alphabetically. Use the Index on the left to jump to a particular microform.Clicking on the call number will open a link to the full catalog record in UMD's online catalog. Clicking on the 'Full Description' will expand the text for an overview of that collection. Print and online indexes and finding aids, as well as digitized versions of the collections, are listed under other sources when available. (Some of these are outside links not maintained by the University. To report broken links, please click on the 'comment' link at the top of the page or contact the author of the Guide.)
This collection consists of 129 titles by and about women held by the Bibliotheque Nationale dating from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.
Items are individually cataloged.
See list of titles below. For call numbers, consult the catalog.
*Published by Microeditions Hachette
The Journal Officiel is the official daily record of the proceedings of the business of the French government. It was published as one volume with consecutively numbered pages through 1880. Beginning in 1881 it was divided into various sections, each paginated separately.
The Journal is arranged chronologically under the above main entry in the microcard collection.
McKeldin holds the Journal for 1876-1880. The main entry in the card catalog is France. Journal Officiel de la Republique Francaise.
The Library also holds the French parliamentary debates from 1934 through 1940. The entry for this collection is France. Journal Officiel. Debats Parlementaires.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Call Number: See Below (10 Reels)
This documentary collection reproduces volumes about the French Revolution which were first published as a set between 1888 and 1942. Together they provide a comprehensive account of religious, military and social events. The individual titles included in the collection are listed below.
Documents are generally arranged in chronological order. Individual volumes are indexed differently.
Titles included in this collection are:
5,779 frames of illustrations depicting Parisien and Court costume styles as well as accessories, furnishings, and genre objects.
In the 17th century, artists like Bonnart and Larmessin made engravings depicting contemporary fashions. Their prints capture the "Louis XIV" styles as exemplified in city dress, formal outfits for state and festive occasions and theatrical costumes including allegorical and fantastic designs.
No separate index.
Most of these documents are communications which passed between the Department of State in Washington and the American Embassy in Paris between 1811 and 1930. They deal primarily with economic questions. The purpose of these communications was to clarify the complex economic relations between the two countries.
Reel one is an alphabetical subject index which designates page numbers. The numbers appear on the reel boxes. At the beginning of reel two, there is a General List of Contents.
The materials are supplemented by correspondence exchanged by the Embassy and the Frence Foreign Office. Information about trade involving specific goods is included--tobacco, sugar, pork, silk, automobiles. In addition, the correspondence addresses questions about French customs regulations, French tariff revisions, the motion picture industry, alleged French discrimination against American companies, etc.