Skip to main content

History Microforms

History of Britain

There are multiple ways to use this guide. The resources are listed alphabetically. Use the Index on the left to jump to a particular microform.Clicking on the call number will open a link to the full catalog record in UMD's online catalog. Clicking on the 'Full Description' will expand the text for an overview of that collection. Print and online indexes and finding aids, as well as digitized versions of the collections, are listed under other sources when available. (Some of these are outside links not maintained by the University. To report broken links, please click on the 'comment' link at the top of the page or contact the author of the Guide.)

Acts of the Privy Council of England

Great Britain. Privy Council. Acts of the Privy Council of England. Colonial Series.

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-CARD

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

Great Britain. Privy Council. Acts of the Privy Council of England. v. 1-43, 1542-1628.

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-CARD (299 Cards)

Click to see full description

British Biographical Archive

British Biographical Archive

 

Location and Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals and Microform Room,    Microfiche CT103 .B74 1984 (1200 Microfiche)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

British Culture: 18th and 19th Century

British Culture: 18th and 19th Century


Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-CARD

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

British Foreign Office: Agency Papers, War of 1914-1918

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Foreign Office. War of 1914-1918. Arab Bureau Papers, 1911-1920. Middle East: Series 2.

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM DS63.2.G7G7 (16 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

 Great Britain. Foreign Office. Foreign Office. War 1914-1918. Jedda Agency Papers, 1913-1925: Middle East Series 3.

Call Number: Microfilm DS63.2.G7 G72 (25 Reels)

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

British Foreign Office: Archives of Conferences and General Correspondence

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Archives of Conferences. Continent, 1813-1822.

 

Call Number: Microfilm DA47.G742 (14 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Great Britain. Foreign Office. General Correspondence Before 1906. Continent. Conferences, 1814-1822.

 

Location & Call Number: Microfilm DA47.G74 (16 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

British Foreign Office: Correspondence with Japan and Russia

British Foreign Office: Russia Correspondence, 1893-1917

 

Call Number: Microfilm DA47.65.G74 (258 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1856-1905

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PERM-FILM CD1047.A4B7 (17 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1941-1945

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER DA47.9J3G71 (28 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

British Foreign Office, Japan correspondence, 1946-1948

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER DA47.9.J3 G72 (85 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

British Foreign Office: Correspondence with United States of America

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Foreign Office. General Correspondence Before 1906. United States of America. Series 1, 1782-1795.

 

Call Number: Microfilm E183.8.G7G7 (10 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Great Britain. Foreign Office. United States Correspondence, 1930-1937.

Call Number: Microfilm E183.8.G7G71 (129 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Great Britain. Foreign Office United States Correspondence 1938-1945.

 

Call Number: Microfilm E183.8.G73G72 (197 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Great Britain. Foreign Office. United States Correspondence 1946-1948.

Call Number: Microfilm E183.8.G7G73 (56 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

British Foreign Office: Files for Post-War Europe

Foreign Office files for post-war Europe. Series one, The Schuman plan and the European Coal and Steel Community (Public Record Office class FO 371)

 

Location & Call Number: HC241 .F67 1997 (61 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

British Labour History Ephemera

British Labour History Ephemera, 1880-1900

Call Number: Microfilm HD8383.B7241 (46 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

British Labour History Ephemera, 1900-1926

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM HD8383.B725 (22 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

British Public Record Office: The 1745 Rebellion Papers

Great Britain. Public Record Office. Jacobite Rebellion, 1745: TS 20, Treasury Solicitor: The 1745 Rebellion Papers.

Call Number: Microfilm DA814.5.G74 (8 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

British Public Record Office: Records Relating to South Carolina, 1663-1782

Great Britain. Public Record Office. Records in the British Public Record Office Relating to South Carolina, 1663-1782.

 

Call Number: Microfilm BG7986R (12 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

British Public Records Office: Ultra

Great Britain. Public Record Office. Ultra.

 

Call Number: Microfilm D810.C88U477 1979 (139 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Camden Society, London Publications

Camden Society, London Publications

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-CARD (Number 1 - 105)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Conflict and Consensus in British Industrial Relations

Conflict and Consensus in British Industrial Relations, 1916 - 1948

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK.PER M-FLLM HD8390.C66 1985 (48 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Customs Ledgers of Imports and Exports

Great Britain. Public Record Office. Ledgers of Imports and Exports. Customs 3. 1697 to 1780.

 

Call Number: Microfilm BG 7981 (51 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

Great Britain. Public Record Office. Ledgers of Imports and Exports. Customs 14. Scotland. 1755-1827.

 

Call Number: Microfilm BG 7921 (16 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

Great Britain. Public Record Office. Ledgers of Imports and Exports, Customs 16. America. 1768 to 1773.

 

Call Number: Microfilm BG 7983L (1 Reel)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

Early English Newspapers

Early English Newspapers

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK PER M-FILM AN183.E3

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

The Eighteenth Century

The Eighteenth Century

 

Location & Call number: Microfilm PR1134.E3 (Reels 1-5355)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

English Literary Periodicals

English Literary Periodicals

Location & Call Number:  McKeldin Microform Collections  AP3.E5

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

The Hobhouse Papers, 1722-1755

Isaac Hobhouse and Co. The Hobhouse Papers 1722-1755: Letters and Other Papers of Isaac Hobhouse and Co., Bristol Merchants.

 

Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm DA690.B818 (1 Reel)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Liverpool Papers

The Liverpool papers: a selection of material relating to the American colonies and the United States [1727-1828] from the Liverpool Papers in the British Museum, London.

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM BL7561 (3 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

Parliamentary Records

Great Britain. Parliament. The Parliamentary Debates [Authorized Edition], V.1-41

 

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. British Sessional Papers. House of Commons. (1731-1905)

 

 

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Reports From Committees of the House of Commons Which Have Been Printed by Order of the House but Not Inserted in the Journals. (1715-1801)

 

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

The Parliamentary History of England from the Earliest Period to the Year 1803, from which Last-Mentioned Epoch It is Continued Downwards in the Work Entitled "Hansard's Parliamentary Debates".(1066/1625-1801/03).

 

Location Code & Call Number: M-PRINT UNCATALOGUED (36 vols. 327 sheets in 2 Boxes)

Click to see full description

The following sources provide more information about the contents of each microfilm in the collection:

Parish Register Typescripts

Parish Register Typescripts, Prepared by W.H. Challen From Parishes in London, Midlands and Southern Counties


Location Code & Call Number: MCK PER M-FILM BV707.C3 (21 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Personal Papers

Webb, Beatrice Potter (1858 - 1943). The Diary of Beatrice Webb, 1873 - 1943.

 

Location & Call Number: McK Microfiche HX243.W41A3 (127 fiche [diary] & 110 fiche [typescript])

Click to show fill description

Prime Minister's Correspondence: Sir Robert Peel, 1841-1846

Peel, Sir Robert, Bart, 1788-1850. Prime Minister's Correspondence: Sir Robert Peel, 1841-1846.

 

Call Number: Microfilm BP345p (6 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom

National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom

 

Call Number: Microfiche CD1040.N37

 

Click to show a full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

The Nineteenth Century

The Nineteenth Century: General Collection.

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FICHE D351.N56 1986

Click to show fill description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

The Nineteenth Century: Women Writers: Specialist Collection.

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FICHE PR1143.W65 1988

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts

Great Britain. Historical Manuscripts Commission. Reports.


Location Code & Call Number: M-CAR MCK-PER

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

The State Papers of Queen Anne

Great Britain. Sovereigns, etc., 1702-1714 (Anne). The State Papers of Queen Anne, 1702-1714.

 

Call Number: Microfilm DA490.A27 1977 (15 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Women Advising Women

Women Advising Women

 

Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm PN5124.W6W65 1992 pt.1 (17 Reels)
Part 1: Early Women's Journals, c1700-1832, from the Bodleian Library, Oxford

 

Location & Call Number: Microfilm PN5124.W6W65 1992 pt.2 (20 Reels)
Part 2: Advice Books, Manuals, Almanacs and Journals, c1625-1837, from the Bodleian Library, Oxford

Location & Call Number: Microfilm PN5124.W6W65 1994 pt. 3-4 (15 Reels & 17 Reels)
Part 3: Lady's Magazine, 1770-1800
Part 4: Lady's Magazine, 1801-1832

Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm PN5124.W6W65 1994 pt. 5 (22 Reels)
Part 5: Women's Writing and Advice, 1450-1710

Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm PN5124.W6 W65 2003 pt. 6 (25 Reels)
Part 6: Women's Writing and Advice, 1450-1710

Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm PN5124.W6 W65 2005 pt. 7 (20 Reels)
Part 7: Women's Writing and Advice, 1450-1710

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection: