Skip to main content

History Microforms

Microforms Covering 1783-1861

There are multiple ways to use this guide. Use the Index on the left to jump to a particular microform. (Please note that non-presidential personal papers are listed under 'Personal Papers,' while presidential papers are listed seperately by last name.) Clicking on the call number will open a link to the full catalog record in UMD's online catalog. Clicking on the 'Full Description' will expand the text for an overview of that collection. Print and online indexes and finding aids, as well as digitized versions of the collections, are listed under other sources when avalible. (Some of these are outside links not maintained by the University. To report broken links, please click on the 'comment' link at the top of the page or contact the author of the Guide.)

American Periodical Series

The American Periodical Series

 

Series 1: 18th Century, The American Periodical Series: 18th Century.

Call Number: Microfilm CAM35APS (33 Reels)

Series 2: 1800-1850, The American Periodical Series: 1800-1850.

Call Number: Microfilm CAM35APS2 (1966 Reels)

Series 3: 1850-1900, The American Periodical Series: 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction.

Call Number: Microfilm CAM35APS3 (771 Reels)

Click here to show full descriptions

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Anti-Slavery Propaganda

Anti-Slavery Propaganda in the Oberlin College Library


Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-CARD

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Early American Imprints, Second Series, 1801-1841

Early American Imprints, Second Series, 1801-1819. Shaw Numbers 1-51, 960.


Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-PRINT (270 Boxes)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Family Papers

Lee Family Papers, 1742-1795

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER MICROFILM BL 51 (8 Reels)

 

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Peale Family Papers.

 

Call Number: Microfiche ND237.P27A2 (449 sheets)

 

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Franklin Pierce Papers

Pierce, Franklin, President U.S., 1804-1869. Papers.


Call Number: MCKPER M-FILM J82.B6 1959 (7 Reels)

Click to show a full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Andrew Jackson Papers

Jackson, Andrew, President U.S., 1767-1845. Papers


Call Number: Microfilm J82.A7J26 1961 (78 Reels)

Click to show a full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Andrew Johnson Papers

Johnson, Andrew, President U.S., 1808-1875. Papers, 1814-1900.


Call Number: Microfilm J82.B9 1960 (55 Reels)

Click to show a full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Joseph Gavit's American Deaths and Marriages

Gavit, Joseph, 1876-1959. Joseph Gavit's American Deaths and Marriages, 1784-1829.

 

Call Number: Microfilm HB 1125 .G3 (2 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

James K. Polk Papers

Polk, James Knox, President U.S., 1795-1849. Papers.


Call Number: MCKPER M-FILM J82.B3 1964 (67 Reels)

Click to show a full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

James Madison Papers

Madison, James, President U.S., 1751-1836. Papers, 1723-1826.


Call Number: Microfilm J82.A4 1965 (28 Reels)

Click to show a full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

James Monroe Papers

Monroe, James, President U.S., 1758-l831. Papers, 1758-1839.


Call Number: MCK-PER J 82.A5 1960 (11 Reels)

Click to show a full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Newspaper Press Directory

Newspaper Press Directory, 1846-1907

 

Call Number: Microfilm Z 6956 .E5M6 (13 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Personal Papers

Bartlett, John Russell, 1805-1886. The Mexican Boundary Commission Papers of John Russell Bartlett.

Call number: Microfilm F786.B3 (12 Reels)

Click to show fill description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Biddle, Nicholas, 1786-1844. Papers.

Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM HG2463.B5A2 (46 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Burr, Aaron, 1756-1836. The Papers of Aaron Burr.

Call Number: Microfilm Z6616.B9K51 (27 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Child, Lydia Maria, 1802-1880. The Collected Correspondence of Lydia Maria Child, 1817-1880.

Call Number: Microfiche E449.C534153 (97 Microfiches)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Ewing, Thomas, 1789-1871. Microfilm Edition of the Thomas Ewing Papers in the Ewing Family Collection.

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER MICROFILM E340.E9 E95 1967b (6 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Penn, Thomas, 1702-1775. The Thomas Penn Papers, 1729-1832 at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.

Call Number: Microfilm BP38t (10 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations From the Revolution Through the Civil War

 

Call Number: Microfilm F213.R43

 

 
Series A (41 Reels)
Series D (14 Reels)
Series I (58 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Republican Party National Convention Proceedings

Records of the Republican Party National Conventions 1st- 1856-

 

Call Number: Microfilm JK2353.R3

 

Click to see full description

State Secession Debates, 1859-1862

State Secession Debates, 1859-1862

 

Location Code & Call Number: McK Microfilm JK9671.S8 (19 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Thomas Jefferson Papers

Jefferson, Thomas, President U.S., 1743-1826. Papers.


Call Number: Microfilm J82.A3 1974 (65 Reels)

Click to show a full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

William Henry Harrison Papers

Harrison, William Henry, President U.S., 1773-1841. Papers.


Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM J82.B1 1958 (3 Reels)

Click to show a full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection: