Skip to main content

History Microforms

Colonial U.S. History Microforms

There are multiple ways to use this guide. Use the Index on the left to jump to a particular microform.Clicking on the call number will open a link to the full catalog record in UMD's online catalog. Clicking on the 'Full Description' will expand the text for an overview of that collection. Print and online indexes and finding aids, as well as digitized versions of the collections, are listed under other sources when avalible. (Some of these are outside links not maintained by the University. To report broken links, please click on the 'comment' link at the top of the page or contact the author of the Guide.)

Index

American Culture Series

American Culture Series (1493-1806)

 

Call number: Microfilm E169.1.A47193 (26 Reels)

 

Click to show full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

American Periodical Series

The American Periodical Series

 

Series 1: 18th Century, The American Periodical Series: 18th Century.

Call Number: Microfilm CAM35APS (33 Reels)

Series 2: 1800-1850, The American Periodical Series: 1800-1850.

Call Number: Microfilm CAM35APS2 (1966 Reels)

Series 3: 1850-1900, The American Periodical Series: 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction.

Call Number: Microfilm CAM35APS3 (771 Reels)

Click here to show full descriptions

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Colonial Office, America and West Indies, Original Correspondence, etc., 1606-1807

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Colonial Office, American and West Indies, Original Correspondence, etc., 1606-1807: Massachusetts and New England, 1620-1783.

 

Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM F61.G7 (40 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Great Britain. Colonial Office. America and West Indies. Original Correspondence, etc., 1606-1807: New York, 1664-1781.

 

Call Number: Microfilm F116.G7 (48 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Colonial Office. America and West Indies. Original Correspondence, etc., 1606-1807: South Carolina, 1699-1784.

 

Call Number: MCK PER M-FILM F266.G7 (17 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Great Britain. Colonial Office. American and West Indies. Original Correspondence, etc., 1606-1807: Virginia, 1606-1781.

 

Call Number: Microfilm F221.G7 (25 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Colonial Records of the State of Georgia

The Colonial Records of the State of Georgia

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM F281.G41 (11 Reels)

 

Click to show full description

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800. Evans Numbers 1-49, 197.

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-PRINT (132 Boxes)

 

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Family Papers

Carter Family Papers, 1659-1797 In the Sabine Hall Collection

 

Call Number: Microfilm BC246 (4 Reels)

Click here to show the full desciption

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Lee Family Papers, 1742-1795

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER MICROFILM BL 51 (8 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Lister Family. The Fawcett and Lister Papers.

 

Location Code & Call Number: Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PE M-FILM BL697f (2 Reels)

Click to show full description

Peale Family Papers.

 

Call Number: Microfiche ND237.P27A2 (449 sheets)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

The Hobhouse Papers, 1722-1755

Isaac Hobhouse and Co. The Hobhouse Papers 1722-1755: Letters and Other Papers of Isaac Hobhouse and Co., Bristol Merchants.

 

Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm DA690.B818 (1 Reel)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Naval Office Shipping Lists

East Florida Naval Officer Naval Office Shipping Lists for 1764-1769

 

Call Number: Microfilm BEa 77r (1 Reel)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Naval Office shipping lists for Georgia, 1752-1767

 

Call Number: Microfilm BG296n (1 Reel)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

The Naval Office Shipping Lists for Maryland, 1689-1754

 

Call Number: Microfilm F184.M37 (1 Reel)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

The Naval Office Shipping Lists for Massachusetts, 1696-1765

 

Call Number: Microfilm F67.M4 (2 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Naval Office Shipping Lists for New Hampshire, 1723-1767

 

Call Number: Microfilm BN 42n (1 Reel)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Naval Office Shipping Lists for New Jersey, 1722-1764

 

Call Number: Microfilm F137 .N5 (1 Reel)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Naval Office Shipping Lists for New York, 1713-1765

 

Call Number: Microfilm F128.4 .N5 (3 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Naval Office shipping lists for South Carolina, 1716-1767

 

Call Number: Microfilm F272 .S665 (2 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Naval Office shipping lists for Virginia, 1698-1769

 

Call Number: Microfilm F229 .V8 (4 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the nature of the collection:

Personal Papers

Bartlett, Josiah, 1729-1795. The Papers of Josiah Bartlett, 1729-1795.

 

Call Number: Microfilm Z6166.B322 M49 (7 Reels)

Click here to show full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Carroll, Charles, 1737-1832. The Charles Carroll Papers.

 

Call Number: Microfilm E302.6.C3 (3 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following sources provide more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Mather, Cotton. The Mather Papers: Part I, The Papers of Cotton Mather

 

Call Number: Microfilm BX7233.M32A4 (19 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Penn, Thomas, 1702-1775. The Thomas Penn Papers, 1729-1832 at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.

 

Call Number: Microfilm BP38t (10 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Records of the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas, 1576-1803.

Catholic Church. Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas. Microfilm Edition of the Records of the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas, 1576-1803.

 

Call Number: Microfilm BC286 (12 Reels)

 

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Records of the Public Treasurers of South Carolina, 1725-1776

South Carolina. Treasury. Records of the Public Treasurers of South Carolina, 1725-1776.

 

Location & Call Number: Microfilm F272.S68 1969a (2 Reels)

 

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection: