Skip to main content

Chesapeake Bay: Resources in Special Collections

A guide to Special Collection resources on the Chesapeake Bay

Baltimore News American Photograph Collection

Dating from 1906-1986, the Baltimore News American Photograph Collection contains over 1.5 million images from the photograph "morgue" of the Baltimore News American.  The collection documents the people, places, and events in Baltimore and around the world.

A searchable database is available in the Maryland Room for researchers. Subject headings related to the Chesapeake Bay include:

  • Chesapeake Bay

  • Maryland- Bridges- Chesapeake Bay Bridge

  • Maryland- Canals- Chesapeake and Delaware Canal

  • Maryland- Canals- Chesapeake and Ohio Canals

  • Maryland- Chesapeake Harbor

  • Chesapeake Bay- Environmental Research

Please note that the University of Maryland Libraries do not hold copyright to any of the materials in this collection.  For more about using the collection, including copyright restrictions, visit the Baltimore News American Photograph Collection homepage.

Selections from the Collection

Skipjacks enter the inner harbor during Chesapeake Heritage Day celebrations in October 1976.  Credit: Baltimore News American Photograph Collection, Box 404, Folder 56

 

Fallen trees along the shoreline on Kent Island, just south of the Bay bridge, are the result of erosion eating away at the beaches on the Eastern Shore.  Taken April 1978.  Credit: Baltimore News American Photograph Collection, Box 357, Folder 4, Image 3

 

Ecology cruises help students understand the problems of the marine environment along the Chesapeake Bay.  Taken April 1978.  Credit: Baltimore News American Photograph Collection, Box 457, Folder 4, Image 25