Skip to main content

Chesapeake Bay: Resources in Special Collections

A guide to Special Collection resources on the Chesapeake Bay

Choosing a Topic

The Chesapeake Bay can be used as a started point to research a variety of topics and subject areas.  If you have a topic in mind, you can use the basic serarch option in the online catalog to locate materials by keywords.

This guide also provides helpful strategies for exploring resources on the Chesapeake in the following subject areas:

Locating Books in the Maryland Room

You can use the College Park Advanced Search to locate materials using more specific search criteria.  In the word search boxes enter keywords, such as "Chesapeak Bay pollution", using the all fields option. 

For a more narrow search, you can change the all fields option to specify keywords in the title or subject categories.

Limiting the location to Marylandia & Rare Books will return materials available in the Maryland Room, including items from the Maryland Collection, Rare Books, and Special Collections.  You can also limit the location to Archives to find materials from the University Publications, University Records, Historic Manuscripts, and other archival collections. 

Searching UMD Theses/Dissertations

Print versions of Master's theses and Doctoral dissertations completed at the University of Maryland are available in the Maryland Room.  These publications are a rich source of bibliographic information and specialized research.  Theses and dissertations are searchable in the library catalog

You may also search for dissertations and theses using DRUM: Digital Repository at the University of Maryland. DRUM is searchable by keyword, author, title, department, and date.  It provides online access to digitized dissertations and theses in PDF form.

For more information about searching theses and dissertations, visit the Theses and Dissertations at University of Maryland Libraries subject guide.

Reference Shelf

The Reference Shelf provides a searchable list of online and print reference sources available from the University of Maryland Libraries, and is available only at University of Maryland Libraries or to University of Maryland staff and students. 

Use the search box at the top of the page to search all reference sources, or select a specific resource from the list.  Resources include almanacs, encyclopedias, directories, and other reference materials.