Skip to main content

Chesapeake Bay: Resources in Special Collections

A guide to Special Collection resources on the Chesapeake Bay

Maryland Map Collection Online Database

The Maryland Map Collection is an online database that can be used to search and browse maps from the Maryland Collection, located in Hornbake Library. The database provides information about many rare early maps of Maryland as well as more modern maps produced by state and local governments. Some selected maps have been digitized and are available on site.  Maps that have not be digitized may be viewed in the Maryland Room

To search the maps, simply enter keywords or dates in the search box on the upper right side of the screen. 

Use the browse maps option, located just below the search box, to sort maps according to cities/towns, counties, countries, states, MD regional, railroads, and waterways. The Chesapeake Bay is located under the waterways category.

You may also sort search results according to year, title, or available image.  Simply click on the appropriate subject heading to sort.

The Digitized Maps link will retrieve all maps available as digitized images.  Click on a title to view the full map record and the accompanying image.  You can also search within these results by entering keywords or dates in the search box located on the upper right side of the screen.

Subject Headings

Use these subject terms when searching the University of Maryland Library online catalog. Select "Subject beginning with..." on the drop-down menu. Then enter one of the terms below.

  • Chesapeake Bay (Md. and Va.) -- Maps
  • Chesapeake Bay (Md. and Va.) -- Maps -- Early works to 1800
  • Chesapeake Bay (Md. and Va.) -- Maps -- Exhibitions