Skip to main content

Chesapeake Bay: Resources in Special Collections

A guide to Special Collection resources on the Chesapeake Bay

History of the Chesapeake Bay

The Chesapeake Bay region has played a vital role in the growth of Maryland.  From Captain John Smith's early travels up the Chesapeake and the settlement of Jamestown to the agricultural growth of fishing communities, the Bay region has been a major social and economic epicenter.  The Chesapeake Bay region has also been the site of battles in both the American Revolution and Civil War.      

For more information on Chesapeake Bay history, use the suggested subject headings below to search the online catalog.  You may also consult archival collections covering topics related to Bay history, including Shipping and Shipbuilding in Maryland and American History, 1820-1865.

You may also consult the Maryland Map Collection for historical maps of the Chesapeake Bay region.

You can browse this page for a selection of books, available in the Maryland Room, on the following topics:

Image: Ship ARK and pinnace DOVE with about 200 colonists arrive in Maryland Waters, March 1634 (University of Maryland Special Collections, Institute of American Deltiology Postcard Collection, Series 1, Subseries 21, Box 1, Folder 5)

Subject Headings

Use these subject terms when searching the University of Maryland Library online catalog. Select "Subject beginning with..." on the drop-down menu. Then enter one of the terms below.

  • Archaeology and history -- Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.)
  • Chesapeake Bay (Md. and Va.) -- History, Naval
  • Chesapeake Bay (Md. and Va.) -- Navigation
  • Chesapeake Bay (Md. and Va.) -- Navigation -- History
  • Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.) -- Commerce
  • Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.) -- Discovery and exploration
  • Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.) -- Economic conditions
  • Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.) -- History
  • Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.) -- History -- 17th century
  • Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.) -- History -- 18th century
  • Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.) -- History -- 19th century
  • Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.) -- History, Local
  • Chesapeake Bay Region (Md. and Va.) -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783

              Bibliography- History

              Bibliography- Navigation