This guide will help you locate resources for the study of Victorian literature. The emphasis is on material available in the University of Maryland Libraries, but some Internet sources are also included.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
This encyclopedia covers world authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
The Wiley–Blackwell Encyclopedia of literature comprises individual titles covering key literary genres and periods.. The following titles can be searched individually or together. The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory, The Encyclopedia of the Novel, The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies, The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction, The Encyclopedia of British Literature: 1660-1789, The Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature.
This is a sampling ot the print reference sources that are availale in the Reference Stacks on the first floor of McKeldin Library. Browse the shelves nearby to find many additional reference books.
Contains over 900 biographical entries, the synopses of over 600 novels, and extensive background material on publishers, reviewers and readers. This new edition contains a significant new introduction and includes some 50 images.
Contains 627 alphabetically arranged essays that examine significant people, places, and events in the social, political, and intellectual history of Great Britain during the sixty-four-year reign of Queen Victoria, from 1837 to 1901.
While focused on Britain, the book's scope is universal, with entries that represent nearly every nation and region and every field of human endeavor - politics, art, literature, music, science, philosophy, war, business, recreation, architecture, design - as well as everyday life.