This guide will help you locate resources for the study of Victorian literature. The emphasis is on material available in the University of Maryland Libraries, but some Internet sources are also included.
Includes three distinct collections which can be search separately or together. The 19th Century British Library Newspapers includes 49 newspapers selected to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Part 2 includes 22 titles that offer regional coverage and provide a wider political perspective through the addition of conservative newspapers. Newspapers in the British Newspapers, Part 3: 1780-1950 range from the late eighteenth century to early 20th century.
Two of a five-series periodical collection covering British life in the Victorian age. Series 1: New Readerships includes a wide variety of periodicals that reflect the changes and influences in political and rural life, children's literature and leisure. Series II: Empire covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing economic as well as non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism. The two series, which can be searched separately or together, draw from the collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia and National Library of South Africa.
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Digitaized runs of at least 20 consecutive years of the following 18th and 19th century journals: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
Includes licensed and recommended free databases, journal indexing and abstracting services, primary source databases, and full-text reference resources. Licensed databases must be used on-site at the Library of Congress.
Fully searchable online editions (both full-page facsimiles and textual transcripts) of the following nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837), Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman's Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publishers' Circular (1880-1890).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more from the long nineteenth century (1789-1914.) The UM Libraries have purchased four of the archives which can be searched together or separately: British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Photography: The World Through The Lens; and Women: Transnational Networks.
An online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) provides access to hundreds of scholarly journals. Coverage includes U.S. and international scholarly journal literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences disciplines with date coverage ranging from 1802 to 2000. NOTE: Current journal issues are not included in PAO but may be covered in other journal collections (use Find It).
Full-text, searchable information from 44 Readers' Guide annuals. Includes the complete text of the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 on and subject heading matching that enables searching of historical subjects using modern terminology.