This guide will help you locate resources for the study of Victorian literature. The emphasis is on material available in the University of Maryland Libraries, but some Internet sources are also included.
NOTE: Download of full book PDF files may require login with University ID. A shared, growing digital repository of millions of books and periodical volumes scanned from major research libraries, including those digitized by institutional effort and by both Google and the Internet Archive. Offers full-text searching and advanced bibliographic search capabilities (such as author, title, publisher, language, etc.), and full PDF downloading of works in the public domain. One feature includes the ability to select and place items from the database into a tailor made collection that may be kept private to the user or shared publicly with others. Items that are saved to collections can be searched independently of the rest of the repository, allowing users to perform focused searches on subsets of HathiTrust materials.
"The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."
Includes licensed and recommended free databases, journal indexing and abstracting services, primary source databases, and full-text reference resources. Licensed databases must be used on-site at the Library of Congress.
Definitive, authoritative editions of literary works and authors’ letters from distinguished academic publishers. Includes correspondence, diaries, memoirs and notebooks from important English authors, including Bacon, Hobbes, Boyle, Locke, Defoe, Fielding, Sterne, Johnson, the Wordsworths, Coleridge, Austen, Tennyson, the Brontės, George Eliot, Newman, Hardy , Yeats and others.
Collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy. One of the subsets is a collection on British Philosophy: 1600-1900, which includes the works of John Stuart Mills, Henry Sidgwick and others. All of the print apparatus is included and is fully searchable.
A growing collection of definitive, authoritative editions of literary works and authors’ letters from distinguished academic publishers. Includes works and/or correspondence of important authors such as Jane Austen, Aphra Behn, Charlotte Bronte, Fanny Burney, Mary Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft and others.
This is the most comprehensive and valuable collection in existence for researching the literature of economics and business dating from the last half of the 15th century to the early 20th century. The collection combines two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more from the long nineteenth century (1789-1914.) The UM Libraries have purchased four of the archives which can be searched together or separately: British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Photography: The World Through The Lens; and Women: Transnational Networks.
The first release in a growing collection of works of important authors such as Jane Austen, Joanna Baillie, Aphra Behn, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Frances Burney, Maria Edgeworth, Elizabeth Gaskell, Eliza Haywood, Elizabeth Inchbald, Caroline Lamb, Harriet Martineau, Florence Nightingale, and others.