This guide will help you locate resources for the study of Victorian literature. The emphasis is on material available in the University of Maryland Libraries, but some Internet sources are also included.
The British equivalent to the MLA International Bibliography, ABELL indexes articles, essays, books, dissertations, and book reviews on language and literature topics published since 1920. Also includes the full text of articles from over 100 journals.
Includes licensed and recommended free databases, journal indexing and abstracting services, primary source databases, and full-text reference resources. Licensed databases must be used on-site at the Library of Congress.
Electronic version of 12 titles in Gale's popular Literature Criticism reference series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism.
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.
Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines.
Lists "noteworthy publications (including articles, books, and reviews) that have a bearing on the Victorian period. Prepared by the staff of Victorian Studies and a committee of the Victorian Division of the Modern Language Association of America, the Bibliography annually indexes over 400 journals, representing scholarship in a range of disciplines."