Research Guides: HIST 208N: Creating Modern Jewish Identities in the US, 1880-1980: Books, pamhlets, broadsides.....

Comprehensive electronic collections

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819
Based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819, provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Parts I and II) is a full-text searchable digital database of over 180,00 English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials, from books and directories, Bibles and sheet music to sermons and advertisements, Includes both well-known and lesser-known authors and canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those same titles.

Electronic collections specific to Jewish and Israel Studies

Berman Jewish Policy Archive
Open access to a growing library of 4500+ policy-relevant documents from leading authors, journals, and organizations. The Berman Jewish Policy Archive (BJPA) at NYU's Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service aspires to become the central electronic address for everyone with an interest in Jewish communal policy. The BJPA @ NYU Wagner offers a vast collection of policy-relevant research and analysis on Jewish life to the public, free of charge.
Jewish National and University Library Digital Collections
Digitized historical collections of books, periodicals, maps, broadsides, etc.
JTS Digital Collections
Several digitized collections, some partcially. Includes "News About Jews," a collection of Early American Jewish newspapers; "Judaica Americana," a collection of pamphlets going back to 1725; "Ketubbot Collection"; "Rare Prints," Biblical print collection and portraiture print collection; and JTS Library exhibits.

National Yiddish Book Center
Online access to the full texts of nearly 11,000 out-of-print Yiddish titles in literature, history, philosophy, art, education, biography, and many other subjects.

Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text & Image
SCETI was developed at the University of Pennsylvania to provide the scholarly community with web access to virtual facsimiles of original texts, documents, and sources from Penn's collections. Judaica projects include Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Music Archive and manuscripts from the Lawrence C. Schoenberg Collection.
Sephardi Studies Project
The purpose of this Digitized Ladino Library is to place on the Internet a corpus of Ladino printed books, or even a few manuscripts, for easy access by scholars as well as students of Ladino throughout the world. A project of Taube Center for Jewish Studies in conjunction with the Mediterranean Studies Forum, both at Stanford University.
Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
This online catalog provides access to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive. The Archive serves as a comprehensive informational and archival resource worldwide for moving image materials pertaining to the Holocaust and related aspects of World War II. Staff continue to locate, acquire, preserve, and document archival film footage from sources throughout the United States and abroad.
Hannah Arendt Papers at the Library of Congress
The entire collection has been digitized and is available in reading rooms at the Library of Congress, the New School University in New York City, and the Hannah Arendt Center at the University of Oldenburg, Germany. Parts of the collection will be made available for public access on the Internet.
Yizkor (Holocaust Memorial) Books from the New York Public Library
The yizkor book holdings of The New York Public Library are the most extensive in the United States, with upwards of 90% of the titles listed in Baker's bibliography. The Library, in partnership with the National Yiddish Book Center, is digitizing collection. Digital images of the full text of the yizkor books in the collection are freely available on the Library's website, and copies of out-of-print titles are also obtainable as "reprints on demand" from National Yiddish Book Center
American Jewish Historical Society Digital Archives
The American Jewish Historical Society participates in the Digital Repository at the Center for Jewish History. The Digital Collections include photographs, scrapbooks, text images, finding aids, memorabilia, audio, etc.

Large print and microform collections at UM

Each of these collections will have a print guide to them which are housed in McKeldin Reference section under the same call numbers as the collections themselves.

Herstory = Women’s history collection. From the International Women’s History Archives, Berkeley, California.
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | HQ1426 .H4
Microfilm of the International Women’s History Archives organized by the Women’s History Library. Includes women’s liberation and women’s civic, religious, professional and peace journals, newspapers and newsletter from all over the world and published from 1956 through Sept. 1971.
History of Women
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | HQ1121 .H5
A huge collection. Covers multitude of topics. Each book in this collection is catalog separately in the Catalog.
Papers, 1909-1989,(bulk 1914-1963) [microform]. by Silver, Abba Hillel, 1893-1963.
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | BM755.S544 A25 1909a
Consists of personal and professional correspondence, sermons, writings, speaking engagements files, scrapbooks and miscellaneous personal material. The bulk of the material is in the correspondence series and includes minutes, publications, reports, financial statements and confidential notes relating to Rabbi Silver’s participation in numerous local and national organizations, especially Zionist groups. Important material relating to the American Zionist Emergency Council, the Zionist Organization of America, the Jewish Agency for Palestine, the United Jewish Appeal, United Palestine Appeal and the American Zionist Policy Committee is found in the collection. Also included is significant material relating to Cleveland Jewish organizations and other civic groups, such as The Temple (Temple-Tifereth Israel), Cleveland Bureau of Jewish Education, the Jewish Community Council, the Jewish Welfare Federation of Cleveland, and the Cleveland Zionist Society. In addition, the collection contains an extensive file of Silver’s speeches, sermons, books, articles and other writings on Zionism, Judaism and other topics, and assorted material relating to Silver’s personal life.
The immigrant in America [microform] Unit 7, Jews.
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | E184.J5 I456 1988
23 microfilm reels. Filmed from the holdings of the New York Public Library.
The Jewish emigration from Ukraine, 1900-1917 [microform] : documents of the Kiev Jewish Emigration Society : from the holdings of the State Archive of Kiev Oblast, Kiev, Ukraine = [Evreiskaia emigratsiia iz Ukrainy, 1895-1917, Kiev, Ukraine].
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | DS135.U4 J49 2004
Primarily in Russian, some in English, German and Hebrew. 59 microfilm reels. At UMCP, accompanied by a printed reel guide entitled: Documents on the Jewish emigration from Ukraine, 1895-1917, located in McKeldin Reference under the call number: DS135.U4J49 2004 Guide.
The papers of Isaac Mayer Wise [microform]. by Wise, Isaac Mayer, 1819-1900.
Call Number: McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Microfilm | BM755.W5 P36 1981
Reel 1. Correspondence, 1847-1900.--Reel 2. Hebrew Union College reports, 1876-1900. Manuscripts. Contributions to monographs, 1879-1896. Reel 3. Monographs, 1852-1864.--Reel 4. Monographs, 1866-1869.--Reel 5. Monographs, 1872-1883.--Reel 6. Monographs, 1884-1901.--Reel 7. Contributions to serials, 1847-1899.--Reel 8. The Israelite editorial pages, 1854-1864.--Reel 9. American Israelite editorial pages, 1865-1875.--Reel 10. American Israelite editorial pages, 1876-1884.--Reel 11. American Israelite editorial pages, 1885-1900.--Reel 12. Die Deborah editorial pages, 1855-1864.--Reel 13. Die Deborah editorial pages, 1865-1875.--Reel 14. Die Deborah editorial pages, 1876-1887.--Reel 15. Die Deborah editorial pages, 1888-1900.