Research Guides: HIST 208N: Creating Modern Jewish Identities in the US, 1880-1980: Citing Tools

Style Manuals

A manual for writers of term papers, theses, and dissertations by Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks | LB2369 .T8 1996
ISBN: 0226816265
This book is available in most UMCP library locations in the Reference or Ready Reference collection.
Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks | Reference Desk | Z253 .U69 2003
ISBN: 9780226104034
This book is available in most UMCP library locations in the Reference or Ready Reference collection.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: McKeldin Library Reference Desk | LB2369 .G53 2009
ISBN: 1603290249
This book is available in most UMCP library locations in the Reference or Ready Reference collection.

Electronic Style Manuals and Bibliographic Management Tools

EndNote
Online bibliographic management program that allows users to create a personal database of references and generate bibliographies in a variety of formats. Users must sign up for an individual account.
OWL at Purdue
Online Writing Lab through Purdue University. Provided citation management styles (APA, Chicago, MLA), research methods, and guidelines for academic integrity.
Zotero
Web based content management tool that builds citation lists from web browsing results. Flexible to output any citation style, and built for PCs and Macs.

Citing Your Sources

Academic integrity is the foundation of an academic community. It is a fundamental value held by students, faculty and staff at the University of Maryland. The following web pages provide helpful information and examples for citing your sources:

Purdue OWL: Citation Style Guides
The Purdue OWL website provides guides on how to cite sources in MLA, APA, and the Chicago Manual of Style formats.
Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Contains examples of how to cite the most frequent types of sources.
Research and Documentation Online
Publisher site for citation guides by Diana Hacker. The MLA page includes information on in-text and notes format and sample papers.
Purdue OWL: Annotated Bibliographies
A guide from the Purdue OWL website that explains how and why to prepare an annotated bibliography.