Skip to main content

Civil Rights Movement in Maryland

A guide to resources on the Civil Rights Movement in Maryland using materials from the University of Maryland Special Collections in Hornbake Library.

About the BNA Collection

Dating from 1906-1986, the Baltimore News American Photograph Collection contains over 1.5 million images from the photograph "morgue" of the Baltimore News American.  The collection documents the people, places, and events in Baltimore and around the world.

These photographs represent the everyday coverage of the civil rights movement from the perspective of a broad-circulation daily newspaper.  This includes images of riots, demonstrations, politicians, and local events that have become part of the struggle for civil rights in Maryland, as well as southern states like Alabama and Mississippi. 

A searchable database is available in the Maryland Room for researchers. Subject headings related to the Civil Rights Movement in Maryland include:

  • Baltimore--Riots and Demonstrations
  • Baltimore--Schools--Desegregation
  • Baltimore--School integration
  • Civil Rights
  • Dorchester County--Cambridge--Demonstrations--Freedom Riders
  • Dorchester County--Cambridge--Riots and Demonstrations

  • Maryland--Riots and Demonstrations--Race Riots

  • Washington D.C.--Demonstrations--March on Washington

Please note that the University of Maryland Libraries do not hold copyright to any of the materials in this collection.  For more about using the collection, including copyright restrictions, visit the Baltimore News American Photograph Collection homepage.

From the BNA Collection

 

April 25, 1963: Demonstrators in front of the Main Post Office in Baltimore in honor of  William Moore, a postal worker who spoke out against racial segregation.   Credit: Baltimore News American Photograph Collection, Box 132, Folder 9, Image 3

March 30, 1964: Hundreds march through downtown Baltimore in a demonstration for racial equality.  Credit: Baltimore News American Photograph Collection, Box 132, Folder 10, Image 4

February 19, 1963: Student demonstrators leave the Northwood Theater under police escort.  Credit: Baltimore News American Photograph Collection, Box 132, Folder 10, Image 3