Skip to main content

Civil Rights Movement in Maryland

A guide to resources on the Civil Rights Movement in Maryland using materials from the University of Maryland Special Collections in Hornbake Library.

About Archives and Manuscripts

Special Collections in Hornbake Library at University of Maryland house personal papers and manuscript collections documenting all aspects of Maryland history and culture.  The pages listed under the Archives and Manuscripts section of this guide link to three ArchivesUM guides that can be used to research the Civil Rights Movement.

To find documents from archival collections, browse the various collection decriptions to identify materials that cover your area of interest.  Then, click on the finding aid link for a more detailed look at the type of materials included in the collection, the scope of the dates covered, and a general inventory of boxes and/or folders.  Archival collections can be requested in the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library.  

Some notable collections include:

  • Prince George's County Council of Parent-Teacher Associations Archives: The Prince George's County Council of Parent-Teacher Associations (PGCCPTA) is active in such issues as child health, school management, public school laws of Maryland, and plans for higher education. The Prince George's County Council of Parent-Teacher Associations (PGCCPTA) archives span the years 1952 to 1981, with the bulk of the material dating from 1964 to 1974. Topics represented in the collection include the desegregation and integration of Prince George's County schools, the implementation of sex education in schools, teacher salaries, the health and welfare of children, and the kindergarten program. 
  • Spiro T. Agnew papers: Spiro T. Agnew's political career as Baltimore County Executive, Governor of Maryland, and Vice President of the United States spanned the period between 1963 and 1973. His political career coincided with historic developments in civil rights, desegregation, discrimination, and other areas of concern to African-Americans both within Maryland and in the United States.
  • Daniel Brewster papers: Daniel B. Brewster served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1950 to 1958, in the U. S. House of Representatives as a Maryland representative from 1958 to 1962, and as a U. S. Senator from Maryland from 1962 to 1968. One of his major concerns as a senator was fighting racial discrimination and he co-sponsored the Omnibus Civil Rights Bill and the Public Accommodations Bill of 1964. He also headed a committee to promote racial harmony in Cambridge, Maryland, in 1963. Brewster's subject and correspondence files contain material related to these issues.
  • Theodore R. McKeldin papers: Theodore R. McKeldin was a prominent politician who served as a two-term mayor of Baltimore (1943-1947 and 1963-1967) and governor of Maryland (1951-1959). Early in his career, McKeldin established a reputation as an advocate of racial integration and civil rights, an advocacy which continued throughout his public career. Two of his most significant accomplishments in these areas were his appointment of the first African-American to the Baltimore School Board during his first term as mayor, and serving as host for a meeting of the Congress of Racial Equality in Baltimore in 1966.

For any questions or assistance with locating archival materials, contact a reference librarian in the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library, or visit the ArchivesUM homepage. 

Digital Collections

Select archival and special collection materials have been digitized and made available online through the Digital Collection @ the University of Maryland, a searchable digital repository of scanned materials from the University of Maryland's libraries. 

Use the keyword search box on the homepage to search collection by keywords.  For example, typing "civil rights Maryland" in the search box will retrieve materials realted to the Civil Right Movement in Maryland. 

You may also search using the provided subject browse terms, which includes a "Civil Rights, Civil Engagement" option.