Skip to main content

Civil Rights Movement in Maryland

A guide to resources on the Civil Rights Movement in Maryland using materials from the University of Maryland Special Collections in Hornbake Library.

Search the UMD Catalog

Search the library catalog to find books, periodicals, and other material from University of Maryland's libraries. 

For a basic search, enter a search term into the box below.  You can search by keyord, author, title, and subject heading.

Subject Headings

Use these subject terms when searching the University of Maryland Library online catalog. Select "Subject beginning with..." on the drop-down menu. Then enter one of the terms below.

  • African Americans - Civil rights - Maryland - History

  • African Americans - Civil rights - Southern States - History

  • Baltimore (Md.) - Race relations

  • College Integration - Maryland

  • Discrimination - Maryland

  • Discrimination in education - Law and legislation - Maryland

  • Discrimination in education - Maryland

  • Discrimination in housing - Maryland

  • Marshall, Thurgood, 1908-1993

  • Riots - Maryland - Baltimore

  • School integration - Maryland - Baltimore

  • School integration - Maryland - Prince George’s County

  • Segregation in education - Maryland

  • Segregation in education- Baltimore

Locating Books in the Maryland Room

You can use the College Park Advanced Search to locate materials using more specific search criteria.  In the word search boxes enter keywords, such as "Maryland civil rights", using the all fields option. 

For a more narrow search, you can change the all fields option to specify keywords in the title or subject categories. A list of suggested subject headings is available on the right

Limiting the location to Marylandia & Rare Books will return materials available in the Maryland Room, including items from the Maryland Collection, Rare Books, and Special Collections.  You can also limit the location to Archives to find materials from the University Publications, University Records, Historic Manuscripts, and other archival collections.

Searching UMD Theses/Dissertations

Print versions of Master's theses and Doctoral dissertations completed at the University of Maryland are available in the Maryland Room.  These publications are a rich source of bibliographic information and specialized research.  Theses and dissertations are searchable in the library catalog

You may also search for dissertations and theses using DRUM: Digital Repository at the University of Maryland. DRUM is searchable by keyword, author, title, department, and date.  It provides online access to digitized dissertations and theses in PDF form.

 

For more information about searching theses and dissertations, visit the Theses and Dissertations at University of Maryland Libraries subject guide.