The following is a list of works by Maryland authors who wrote primarily in the 20th century, arranged alphabetically by author, that are available in the Maryland Room. Click on the titles to see the full bibliographic record from the University of Maryland library catalog.
Alvarez, Rafael (1958-)
The Fountain of Highlandtown Baltimore, MD. 1997.
Orlo and Leini: Stories Baltimore, MD. 2000.
The Wire : Truth Be Told New York. 2004.
Baker, Russell (1925-)
The Good Times New York. 1989, 1st edition. Art Gliner Humor Collection.
Growing Up New York. 1982, 1st edition. Art Gliner Humor Collection.
Barth, John (1930-)
Chimera New York. 1972, 1st edition.
The End of the Road Garden City, NY. 1958, 1st edition.
Sabbatical: A Romance New York. 1982.
The Sot-Weed Factor Garden City, NY. 1960, 1st edition.
Bell, Madison Smartt (1957-)
Charm City: A Walk Through Baltimore New York. 2007, 1st edition.
Devil's Dream New York. 2009, 1st edition.
Ten Indians New York. 1996, 1st edition.
The Stone That the Builder Refused New York. 2004, 1st edition.
Cain, James M. (1892-1977)
The Baby in the Icebox and Other Short Fiction New York. 1981, 1st trade edition.
Mildred Pierce New York. 1941, 1st edition.
The Postman Always Rings Twice New York. 1934, 1st edition.
Three of a Kind New York. 1944.
Trial by Jury New York. 1943.
Carson, Rachel (1907-1964)
The Edge of the Sea Eau Claire, WI. 1965, first cadmus edition. Illustrations by Bob Hines.
The Rocky Coast New York. 1971. Photos by Charles Pratt, drawings by Bob Hines.
The Sea Around Us New York. 1961, revised edition. Drawings by Katherine L. Howe. Signet science library book.
Silent Spring Greenwich, CT. 1962. Fawcett Crest Book.
Under the Sea-wind : a Naturalist’s Picture of Ocean Life New York. 1964. Signet science library book.
Clancy, Tom (1947-)
Clear and Present Danger New York. 1989. Eugene Istomin collection.
The Hunt for Red October Annapolis, MD. 1984. Eugene Istomin collection.
Patriot Games New York. 1987.
Without Remorse New York. 1993.
Clifton, Lucille (1936-)
Good News About the Earth New York. 1972, 1st edition.
Mercy Rochester, NY. 2004, 1st edition.
Voices Rochester, NY. 2008, 1st edition.
Cockey, Tim (1955-)
Hearse Case Scenario New York. 2002, 1st edition.
Hearse of a Different Color New York. 2001, 1st edition.
The Hearse You Came In On New York. 2000, 1st edition.
Collier, Michael (1953-)
Bardo Wisconsin. 2003. 70 copies printed from handset Bembo types by Allison Quam.
Dark Wild Realm Boston. 2006.
The Folded Heart Middletown, Conn. 1989, 1st edition
Fitzgerald, F. Scott (1896-1940)
The Great Gatsby: A Facsimile of the Manuscript Washington. 1973. A Bruccoli Clark book.
The Pat Hobby Stories New York. 1962.
Tales of the Jazz Age New York. 1922.
Taps at Reveille New York. 1935.
Flint, Roland (1934-)
Easy Baton Rouge. 1999.
Pigeon Rocky Mount, NC. 1991.
Stubborn Urbana. 1990
Gresham, William Lindsay (1909-1962-)
Limbo Tower New York. 1942.
Nightmare Alley New York. 1948. Bound in decorated wrappers illustrating 20th Century Fox film starring Tyrone Power and Joan Blondell.
Hammett, Dashiell (1894-1961)
The Glass Key London, New York. 1931. UMCP copy 2 from the library of Walter B. Gibson, who created "The Shadow" under the pseudonym Maxwell Grant.
The Maltese Falcon San Fransisco. 1984. This edition is reproduced from the limited edition of 400 copies printed and published by the Arion Press, San Francisco, in 1983.
The Thin Man New York. 1934. Irvin Hurwitz Collection.
Jacobsen, Josephine (1908-2003)
The Animal Inside Athens, Ohio. 1966.
Let Each Man Remember Dallas, TX. 1940.
The Shade-Seller; New and Selected Poems Garden City, NY. 1974.
Kamenetz, Rodger (1950-)
The Missing Jew Baltimore. 1979. First printing, 1000 copies.
Lippman, Laura (1959-)
Baltimore Blues New York. 1997.
In a Strange City New York. 2001, 1st edition.
Mencken, H.L. (1880-1956)
George Bernard Shaw; His Plays Boston and London. 1905. Arthur J. Gutman Collection.
Havelock Ellis, in Appreciation Berkeley Heights, NJ. 1929. The edition is limited to 450 copies printed on American egg shell paper and 50 copies on Alexandra Japan vellum. This is number 69. An international tribute planned originally to be issued upon the seventieth birthday of Havelock Ellis
Mencken on Mencken : a New Collection of Autobiographical Writings Baton Rouge. 2010. Edited by S.T. Joshi.
The philosophy of Friedrich Nietzsche Boston. 1908. Arthur J. Gutman Collection.
Treatise on the Gods Baltimore. 1997, second edition, corrected and rewritten. Originally published in 1946. Arthur J. Gutman Collection
Michener, James Albert (1907-1997)
Chesapeake New York. 1978, 1st edition.
How George Washington Got His Gunpowder Privately printed in New York. 1980. Published in connection with Printing Week in New York 1980 commemorating the 247th birthday of Benjamin Franklin.
The Quality of Life Philadelphia. 1970.
Nash, Ogden (1902-1971)
The Bad Parents’ Garden of Verse New York. 1936.
Family Reunion Boston. 1950, 1st edition.
I’m a Stranger Here Myself Boston. 1941.
You Can’t Get There From Here Boston. 1957, 1st edition.
Pastan, Linda (1932-)
Even as We Sleep Athens, Ohio. 1980, 1st edition.
The Imperfect Paradise New York. 1988, 1st edition.
Queen of a Rainy Country New York. 2006, 1st edition.
Pelecanos, George P. (1957-)
The Big Blowdown New York. 1996, 1st edition.
A Firing Offense New York. 1992, 1st edition.
The Sweet Forever New York. 1998, 1st edition.
The Way Home New York. 2009, 1st edition.
Rich, Adrienne (1929-)
Diving Into the Wreck : Poems 1971-1972 New York. 1994, c. 1973.
Fox : Poems 1998-2000 New York; London. 2003. Lambda Literary Award, 2001
A Wild Patience has Taken Me this Far : Poems 1978-1981 London. 1990 (originally published 1981).
Roberts, Nora (1950-)
Inner Harbor New York. 1999.
Rising Tides New York. 1998.
Sea Swept New York. 1998.
Shapiro, Karl (1913-)
Adam & Eve Lewisburg, PA. 1986. Etchings by Rosalyn Richards. Limited edition of 125 copies, signed by the author and the artist. The poem first appeared in the author’s Love and war, art and God.
Love & War, Art & God Winston-Salem, NC. 1984, 1st edition. Signed by author.
Person, Place and Thing New York. 1942.
Siegel, Eli (1902-1987)
Hot Afternoons Have Been in Montana New York. 1957. Eugene Istomin collection.
Spires, Elizabeth (1952-)
Swan's Island Pittsburgh. 1997, 1st Carnegie Mellon University Press edition.
The Wave-Maker New York. 2008, 1st edition.
Worldling New York. 1995, 1st edition.
Tyler, Anne (1941-)
The Clock Winder New York. 1972, 1st edition.
Noah's Compass New York. 2009, 1st edition.
A Slipping-down Life New York. 1970, 1st edition.
Uris, Leon (1924-)
Armageddon; a Novel of Berlin Garden City, NY. 1964, 1st edition.
Exodus Garden City, NY. 1958, 1st edition.
Mila 18 Garden City, NY. 1961, 1st edition. Samuel L. and Eileen Shneiderman Collection.
Voigt, Cynthia (1942-)
Dicey's Song New York. 1982, 1st edition. Awarded Newberry Medal.
Homecoming New York. 1981.
A Solitary Blue New York. 1983, 1st edition.
Weaver, Afaa M. (1951-)
My Father’s Geography Pittsburgh. 1992.
Stations in a Dream Baltimore. 1993.
Talisman Chicago. 1998.
Whittemore, Reed (1919-)
Fifty Poems Fifty Minneapolis. 1970.
Poems, New and Selected Minneapolis. 1967.
The Self-made Man, and Other Poems New York. 1959.
Ten from Ten & One More Takoma Park, MD. 2006.