Skip to main content

Maryland Authors

A guide to Special Collection resources focusing on authors associated with the state of Maryland.

Maryland Non-fiction Authors

The following is a list of works by Maryland non-fiction writers, arranged alphabetically by author, that are available in the Maryland Room.  Click on the titles to see the full bibliographic record from the University of Maryland library catalog.

 

Baker, Russell (1925-)

The Good Times New York. 1989, 1st edition. Art Gliner Humor Collection.

Growing Up New York. 1982, 1st edition. Art Gliner Humor Collection. 


  Carson, Rachel (1907-1964)

The Edge of the Sea Eau Claire, WI. 1965, first cadmus edition. Illustrations by Bob Hines.

The Rocky Coast New York. 1971.  Photos by Charles Pratt, drawings by Bob Hines.

The Sea Around Us New York. 1961, revised edition. Drawings by Katherine L. Howe. Signet science library book.

Silent Spring Greenwich, CT. 1962. Fawcett Crest Book. 

Under the Sea-wind : a Naturalist’s Picture of Ocean Life New York. 1964. Signet science library book.


Douglass, Frederick (1818-1895)

Addresses of the Hon. W. D. Kelley, Miss Anna E. Dickinson, and Mr. Frederick Douglass, at a Mass Meeting ... Philadelphia, July 6, 1863, for the Promotion of Colored Enlistments  Philadelphia. 1863.

My Bondage and My Freedom New York. 1855.

The Equality of All Men Before the Law : Claimed and Defended / in Speeches by Hon. William D. Kelley, Wendell Phillips, and Frederick Douglass, and Letters from Elizur Wright and Wm. Heighton Boston. 1865. Slavery Pamphlet Collection.

Frederick Douglass : Selected Speeches and Writings edited by Philip S. Foner abridged and adapted by Yuval Taylor Chicago. 1999, first edition.

Life and times of Frederick Douglass, written by himself Hartford, CT. 1881, enlarged from the author’s My bondage and my freedom (New York, 1855).


Mencken, H.L. (1880-1956)

George Bernard Shaw; His Plays Boston and London. 1905. Arthur J. Gutman Collection.

Havelock Ellis, in Appreciation Berkeley Heights, NJ. 1929. The edition is limited to 450 copies printed on American egg shell paper and 50 copies on Alexandra Japan vellum. This is number 69. An international tribute planned originally to be issued upon the seventieth birthday of Havelock Ellis

Mencken on Mencken : a New Collection of Autobiographical Writings Baton Rouge. 2010.  Edited by S.T. Joshi.

The philosophy of Friedrich Nietzsche Boston. 1908. Arthur J. Gutman Collection.

Treatise on the Gods Baltimore. 1997, second edition, corrected and rewritten. Originally published in 1946. Arthur J. Gutman Collection


Townsend, George Alfred (1841-1914)

The Entailed Hat, or Patty Cannon’s Times Vienna, MD. 2000. Edited and illustrated by Hal Roth.

How Wilkes Booth crossed the Potomac Port Tobacco, MD. 1979. Reprinted from Century magazine issue of April, 1884.

Tales of the Chesapeake Miami, FL. 1969. Reprint of the 1880 edition.