Skip to main content

Maryland Authors

A guide to Special Collection resources focusing on authors associated with the state of Maryland.

Online Resources

Hard-boiled Books: Four crime writers from Maryland

This online exhibit provides information on four of Maryland's most prolific writers in the crime/mystery genre.  The digital display features the works of James M. Cain, Dashiell Hammett, William Lindsay Gresham, and George Pelecanos. 

The Baltimore Literary Heritage Project

 Maintained by the School of Communications Design at the University of Baltimore, the Baltimore Literary Heritage Project provides thoughtful and detailed descriptions of many of Baltimore's best loved authors.  Currently the site provides brief biographical sketches as well as a list of places of interest related each author.  In addition there are plans for the project to create audio tracks for a driving tour of Baltimore featuring information about the authors of Baltimore and their relationship to the city, and also provide a more comprehensive list of resources. 

CityLit Project

CityLit Project promotes the literary arts in the Baltimore Metropolitan area and across Maryland.

The Maryland Author Award

In 1996 the Maryland Library Association began the Maryland Author Award, designed to honor and promote authors from Maryland and increase awareness of Maryland literature and publishing.  Each year a committee chooses an author in one of four categories (non-fiction, adult fiction, youth fiction, and poetry) as the recipient of the award.  The committe judges proposed author's work by the merit, readibility, relationship to Maryland, volume of body of work, nominations by readers, and the reciept of literary awards.  The 2011 Maryland Author Award winner is Mark Bowden, the best selling author of Black Hawk Down.

Maryland Literature and Writers

Maryland State Archives listing in Maryland at a Glance of information on Maryland literature and writers

Poetry Foundation

The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary
organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.

Literary Criticism

Database Finder offers online access to databases and journal articles, and is available only at University of Maryland Libraries or to University of Maryland staff and students.  These databases will help you locate literary criticism resources. 

MLA International Bibliography

This database features an extensive collection of literary criticism.  Use the advanced search to to find criticism of a particular author, title, genre, or time-period.  

Literature Resource Center

In addition to providing thorough biographies, the Literature Resource Center also maintains full-text bibliographies, criticisms, and reviews.  

Literature Online

Literature Online contains 350,000 works of English and American literature, as well as access to full-text journals, literary criticism, and other reference resources.  

Maryland Map Collection

In the Maryland Map Collection you can find two literary maps of Maryland that include information on authors, their works, and their association with the state of Maryland. These maps can be accessed from the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library.  Use the map collection database to search for additional maps. 

Literary Map of Baltimore-Map number: BC.047 (There is no digital image available for this map, so head to the Maryland Room to check it out.)

Published in 1969 by the Baltimore County Historical Society, the map pinpoints locations associated with famous Baltimore authors. 

Literary Maryland,  Selected Authors and their Works-Map number: MD.056  Digital image.

Published by the Maryland Council of Teachers of English in 1967, this map provides information about selected Maryland authors and their works and their connection to Maryland. 

Digital Collections

Select archival and special collection materials have been digitized and made available online through the Digital Collection @ the University of Maryland, a searchable digital repository of scanned materials from the University of Maryland's libraries. 

Use the keyword search box on the homepage to search collection by keywords. You may also search using the provided subject browse terms, which includes a "Literature, Print Culture" option.