Skip to main content

Sports in Maryland

This guide provides an introduction to the UM Libraries' Special Collections resources available related to the topic of Sports in Maryland.

Choosing a Topic

Consult the pages in this guide for bibliographies, online resources, and search tips for researching specific topics, including:

Search the UMD Catalog

Search the library catalog to find books, periodicals, and other material from University of Maryland's libraries. 

For a basic search, enter a search term into the box below.  You can search by keyord, author, title, and subject heading.

Locating Books in the Maryland Room

You can use the College Park Advanced Search to locate materials using more specific search criteria.  In the word search boxes enter keywords, such as "maryland sports", using the all fields option. 

For a more narrow search, you can change the all fields option to specify keywords in the title or subject categories.  A list of suggested subject headings is available on the right.

Limiting the location to Marylandia & Rare Books will return materials available in the Maryland Room, including items from the Maryland Collection, Rare Books, and Special Collections.  You can also limit the location to Archives to find materials from the University Publications, University Records, Historic Manuscripts, and other archival collections. 

Maryland Newspapers

Hornbake and McKeldin libraries have extensive collections of microfilmed local Maryland newspapers. If you are looking for a specific event in the history of  sports in Maryland and you know the general area in which the event might have been covered, newspapers are a great primary source for your research.  Please visit the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library or the Periodical Section of McKeldin Library for more information on microfilmed newspapers.

Below is a selection of newspapers available on microfilm in the Maryland Room, including the dates of coverage for each title.

Want to browse the complete list of Maryland newspapers?  Go to the University of Maryland online catalog and select "call number" from the drop-down menu. Enter AN41 to view an alphabetical list of Maryland's historic and current newspapers.

Searching UMD Theses/Dissertations

Print versions of Master's theses and Doctoral dissertations completed at the University of Maryland are available to use in Hornbake's Maryland Room. These publications are a rich source of bibliographic information and specialized research. Theses and dissertations are searchable in the online catalog

You may also search for dissertations and theses using DRUM: Digital Repository at the University of Maryland. DRUM is searchable by keyword, author, title, department, and date. It provides online access to digitized dissertations and theses in PDF form. 

For more information about searching theses and dissertations, visit the Theses and Dissertations at University of Maryland Libraries subject guide.

Digital Collections

Select archival and special collection materials have been digitized and made available online through the Digital Collection @ the University of Maryland, a searchable digital repository of scanned materials from the University of Maryland's libraries. 

Use the keyword search box on the homepage to search collection by keywords.  For example, typing "sports, Maryland" in the search box will retrieve materials realted to sports in Maryland. 

You may also search using the provided subject browse terms, which includes a "Sports, Recreation" option.